Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Super Host

Kate Russo

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

What do you do when you're left with a large house? Fill it of course... A wry, warm novel of life, love and loneliness - perfect for readers of Standard Deviation and Less.

Being lost in a place you know by heart is one of life's most disconcerting feelings

Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize nominated artist who was a Bright Young Thing. Now, aged 55, his wife has left him, the reviews have dried up, and his gallery wants to stop selling his paintings, saying they'll have more value retrospectively...when he's dead. So, left with a large West London home and no income, he moves into his painting studio in the back garden and rents out the house, soon reaching status as a Super Host on AirBed.

At last, the money is coming in, but he's loveless and, well, lonely. Turns out his house guests are as quirky, lost and entertaining as Bennett himself, unwittingly unlocking the parts of Bennett's life that have been forgotten to him for too long, but can they help him feel less lost in the place he knows best?

Wry, rueful and rich in observation, SUPER HOST provides a delicious portrait of middle-age, marriage, and the underlying fears and loneliness that colour so many lives.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay