Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Tenant: the twisty and gripping international bestseller

Katrine Engberg

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

Rapidly rising star in international crime fiction launches - perfect reading for fans of Ruth Ware and Alex Michaelides

*pre-order The Butterfly House, the next book in the Korner and Werner series, now*

They share a house.
And all its secrets . . .

When a young woman is discovered brutally murdered in her own apartment, with an intricate pattern of lines carved into her face, Copenhagen police detectives Jeppe Korner and Anette Werner are assigned to the case.

They quickly establish a link between the victim, Julie Stender, and her complex landlady, Esther. Esther is a budding novelist - and when Julie features as a murder victim in the still-unfinished mystery she's writing, the link between fiction and real life grows more urgent.

But is Esther guilty or merely another victim in a far more dangerous game of vengeance? Anette and Jeppe must dig more deeply into the two women's pasts to discover the secret that links them both . . .

See what readers are saying about The Tenant:

'Full of intrigue and clever twists' *****

'This is as tense and gripping as anything I've read this year.' *****

'Gripping Scandi police procedural' *****

'Kept me engrossed with a strong sense of location and plenty of tension' *****

'This will keep you hooked! It kept me guessing all the way through' *****

'A great thriller full of twists and turns that will keep you engaged to the end' *****

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Tenant: the twisty and gripping international bestseller

  • A stunning debut. Katrine Engberg's unforgettable characters and brilliant plot twists will captivate readers of suspense fiction - Kathy Reichs

  • What a fantastic debut! I love the characters, the sparkling prose, and the depiction of Copenhagen. Katrine Engberg is an absolute star! - Camilla Lackberg

  • Engberg's fast-paced narrative is bolstered by an interesting and quirky cast as well as an intriguing setting

  • - Kirkus

  • Everyone has secrets, and some secrets are lies. Engberg's debut novel, a sleeper hit in her native Denmark, is sure to attract comparisons to other Scandinavian thrillers... layered, character-driven suspense from authors including Erin Kelly and Ruth Ware may prove to be more apt read-alike suggestions - Booklist

  • Engberg's debut features dark family secrets - and a smorgasbord of surprises - People

  • [A] gripping addition to the Scandinavian crime fiction pantheon - OprahMag.com

  • The careful plotting ensures that the mystery unfolds deliberately, with surprises constantly woven into the narrative . . . Engberg's English language debut promises a gritty, unflinching procedural series, and will leave readers craving the translation of Korner and Werner's next adventure - BookPage

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay