Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

The Last Namsara: Iskari Book One

Kristen Ciccarelli

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Iskari, Fiction, Science fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy romance, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy romance (Teenage)

A gripping YA crossover series from a spectacular new voice in the genre for readers of Kristin Cashore, Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard

THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war

Destroyer. Death bringer. Dragon-slayer. I am more weapon than girl.

Asha is a dragon-slayer. Reviled by the very people she's sworn to protect, she kills to atone for the wicked deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.

But protecting her father's kingdom is a lonely destiny: no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked.

So to unite the fractured kingdom, she must marry Jarek, her father's cruel commandant. As the wedding day approaches, Asha longs for freedom.

Just when it seems her fate is sealed, the king offers her a way out: her freedom in exchange for the head of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard.

And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy . . .

Read More Read Less
Write a Review

Reader reviews (1)

  • As always, first comes the cover and as you all know I'm such a cover-lover. So guess what! Of course I love this one. It's beautifully designed with a lot of details, simple colours and something completely knew for me: it's glittering :D I saw it and just had to have it! The author Kristen Ciccarelli has a big talent as a creative writer. Her world building is fantastic, her writing style is thrilling and full of action, and she successfully implemented new ideas. I didn't come across any boring or dull scenes and found the whole story quite interesting and unique. When it came to the story itself, I got sucked right into it and didn't want to lay the book aside until I finished it. I mean, put the word dragon into the blurb and you already caught my attention. But Kristen combined the dragons with the power of stories and I loved it. You will come across many great characters - good ones as well as right out evil ones. First, there's Asha - the protagonist. She is the Iskari and most of her people fear her if not openly hate her. She is strong, fierce and stubborn but at the same time she is fearful, loving and kind. Dax is Asha's brother and the crown prince. He is a dreamer with a kind character. But don't be fooled, there's more to him than you could possibly guess. Safire is Asha and Dax's cousin. She is a fierce warrior but she is also beneath them by law. Though she is much loved and is a wonderful person herself. She is kind, helpful, and dares to hope. Torwin is a slave, though a quite important one. I can't say much about him without revealing to much but I can say that you'll love him. Jarek is one of the evil ones. He is cruel with a heart made of ice. He doesn't care about anyone and I honestly strongly dislike him - to put it nicely. You will meet many, many more characters in this story but I will let you discover them yourself. 'The Last Namsara' by Kristen Ciccarelli is a heartbreaking, sad, and at the same time wonderful story. In it you will discover the greatest possible betrayal, but you will also find loyalty, friendship, trust, true family bonds, as well as love. You will ask yourself the question 'Is it all fate, don't they have any choice at all?' but you have to find out for yourselves what the answer is. And don't let me forget about the dragons. You will read about plenty of those majestical, mysterious creatures and if you like them, you should definitely read this book.

    Jen Villmow

    Rated 5
Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Iskari Universe Cheat Sheet

loading...

Christmas Gift Ideas 2017

loading...

A Day in the Life: Kristen Ciccarelli

Right
Left
loading...

Iskari Universe Cheat Sheet

loading...

Christmas Gift Ideas 2017

loading...

A Day in the Life: Kristen Ciccarelli

Right

Kristen Ciccarelli

Kristen Ciccarelli (@SheLuresDragons) hails from Ontario's Niagara Peninsula where she grew up on her grandfather's grape farm. She's made her living as a baker, a bookseller, and a potter, but now writes YA fantasy books about bloodthirsty dragons, girls wielding really cool weapons, and the transformative power of stories.

You can learn more at www.kristenciccarelli.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay