Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Looker: 'An utterly absorbing read'

Laura Sims

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A hugely compulsive, dark, stylish and intense novel, simmering with Hitchcockian undertones - for readers of LULLABY, TANGERINE or Zoe Heller.

'A simmering sense of dread dominates this brilliant Brooklyn-set debut . . . dazzlingly creepy storytelling, reminiscent of NOTES ON A SCANDAL' Grazia

'A novel I had been craving: an unflinching portrayal of women looking upon each other as disturbingly as men do' New Statesman

A compulsive, dark domestic noir novel simmering with Hitchcockian undertones, for those who loved LULLABY or TANGERINE.

The Professor lives in Brooklyn; her partner Nathan left her when she couldn't have a baby. All she has now is her dead-end teaching job, her ramshackle apartment, and Nathan's old moggy, Cat. Who she doesn't even like.

The Actress lives a few doors down. She's famous and beautiful, with auburn hair, perfect skin, a lovely smile. She's got children - a baby, even. And a husband who seems to adore her. She leaves her windows open, even at night.

There's no harm, the Professor thinks, in looking in through the illuminated glass at that shiny, happy family, fantasizing about them, drawing ever closer to the actress herself. Or is there?

'Unsettling and compelling' Tammy Cohen 'Laura Sims has pulled off the high-wire act of making bitterness delicious' Vogue

Read More Read Less

Praise for Looker: 'An utterly absorbing read'

  • Unsettling and compelling

  • A simmering sense of dread dominates this brilliant Brooklyn-set debut . . . dazzlingly creepy storytelling, reminiscent of NOTES ON A SCANDAL. Will leave you checking your curtains at night, but this is an utterly absorbing read - Grazia online

  • Sims creates a compelling narrator, who is both sympathetic and disturbing - Bookseller, Editor's Choice for July

  • Laura Sims has pulled off the high-wire act of making bitterness delicious - Vogue

  • Ephemeral fiction with a hard landing - like a window, seen in passing, that glows and goes dark - New Yorker

  • A sugarcoated poison pill of psychological terror - Wall Street Journal

  • Looker is a powerful sylph of a book about creation and destruction and the permeable boundary between them - LitHub

  • Jealousy rears its ugly head in Sims's chilling and riveting debut. In this tightly plotted novel, Sims takes the reader fully into the mind of a woman becoming increasingly unhinged, and turns her emotionally fraught journey into a provocative tale about the dangers of coveting what belongs to another - Publishers Weekly, starred review

Read More Read Less

Laura Sims

Laura Sims is the author of four books of poetry, and LOOKER is her debut novel. She lives in Brooklyn.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay