Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press

Looker: 'Dazzlingly creepy storytelling'

Laura Sims

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A hugely compulsive, dark, stylish and intense novel, simmering with Hitchcockian undertones - for readers of LULLABY, EILEEN or THE LEMON GROVE

Have you ever wanted to steal someone else's life?

A compulsive, dark domestic noir novel simmering with Hitchcockian undertones, for those who loved LULLABY, KILLING EVE or THE CRY.

'Unsettling and compelling' Tammy Cohen

'Laura Sims has pulled off the high-wire act of making bitterness delicious' Vogue

The Professor lives in Brooklyn; her partner Nathan left her when she couldn't have a baby. All she has now is her dead-end teaching job, her ramshackle apartment, and Nathan's old moggy, Cat. Who she doesn't even like.

The Actress lives a few doors down. She's famous and beautiful, with auburn hair, perfect skin, a lovely smile. She's got children - a baby, even. And a husband who seems to adore her. She leaves her windows open, even at night.

There's no harm, the Professor thinks, in looking in through the illuminated glass at that shiny, happy family, fantasizing about them, drawing ever closer to the actress herself. Or is there?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Looker: 'Dazzlingly creepy storytelling'

  • Unsettling and compelling

  • Jealousy rears its ugly head in Sims's chilling and riveting debut. In this tightly plotted novel, Sims takes the reader fully into the mind of a woman becoming increasingly unhinged, and turns her emotionally fraught journey into a provocative tale about the dangers of coveting what belongs to another - Publishers Weekly, starred review

  • With an agile precision reminiscent of Lydia Davis, Laura Sims captures the obsessiveness of a woman who unravels after the collapse of her marriage. A taut, gripping portrait, all the more sinister for its elegance

  • This intense, gripping first novel from Laura Sims shoehorns us into a gathering disquiet and sense of dread, heightened at every turn by our sympathetic understanding of her relentlessly unraveling protagonist. The precise, observant writing slips through the skin without ever calling attention to itself

  • A dark and stylish drama featuring a self-aware yet unstable narrator - Booklist

Read More Read Less

Laura Sims

Laura Sims is the author of four books of poetry, and LOOKER is her debut novel. She lives in Brooklyn.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay