Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel

14 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of BIG LITTLE LIES.

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is 'a sparkling tale about the power of secrets, loyalty and love' (Sunday Mirror). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS.

This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.

This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.

This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.
When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.

Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.

Read More Read Less

Praise for This Is How It Always Is

  • With emotional acuity, admirable bravery, utter compassion, and complete understanding, [Frankel has] created a family attempting to forge a path through one of life's most mystifying challenges: how to define what it is that makes your child who he or she is: unique, beloved, and whole. This is a novel everyone should read. It's brilliant. It's bold. And it's time - Elizabeth George

  • A beguiling tale of a sprawling, loving, ever-changing, unconventional and yet completely typical modern family... Wonderfully moving - Garth Stein

  • An astonishing balance of humour, complexity, and above all, kindness - Ruth Ozeki

  • A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS sparkles with wit and wisdom - Maria Semple

  • I was lucky enough to receive an advance reading copy of this very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think. - Liane Moriarty

  • I was lucky enough to receive an advance reading copy of this very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think. Preorder your copy now. - Liane Moriarty

  • An astonishing balance of humour, complexity, and above all, kindness

  • A beguiling tale of a sprawling, loving, ever-changing, unconventional and yet completely typical modern family... Wonderfully moving

  • A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS sparkles with wit and wisdom

  • Wonderful, magical - Red

  • Huge heart, humour and compassion. A sparkling tale about the power of secrets, loyalty and love, this novel is wonderfully engaging, gorgeously written and has characters that will captivate you - Sunday Mirror

  • I was lucky enough to receive an advance reading copy of this very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.

  • Heart-warming and funny... I found this both unputdownable and enlightening. I'm so glad I've read it - I know so much more about life now

  • Heart-warming and funny... I found this both unputdownable and enlightening. I'm so glad I've read it - I know so much more about life now - Katie Fforde

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel | Trailer

Right
Left
loading...

This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel | Trailer

Right

Laurie Frankel

Laurie Frankel writes novels (reads novels, teaches other people to write novels, raises a small person who reads and might someday write novels) in Seattle, Washington. She and her husband and daughter live on a nearly vertical hill from which Laurie can watch three different bridges when she's staring out her windows between words.

Laurie's earlier novels are The Atlas of Love and Goodbye For Now. This Is How It Always Is is her third novel.