Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Lothian Children's Books
  • Lothian Children's Books
  • Lothian Children's Books

Resources

Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee!

Lisa Shanahan, Binny

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Picture books: character books

The story of an irrepressible little girl and her very big imagination, from two award-winning creators of Australian picture books - Lisa Shanahan and Binny

Ruby Lee is a little girl with a very big imagination. Every week Ruby's teacher, Mrs Majestic-Jones, asks special people to do special jobs in her class. Ruby would do anything to be the messenger, as she's the best in her class at announcing. But will her wild imagination get in the way?

A delightful story about an adorable and irrepressible heroine from CBCA award-winning author Lisa Shanahan and Illustrators Australia award-winner Binny. Perfect for fans of CHARLIE AND LOLA and OLIVIA.

Short-listed for the CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood.

Read More Read Less

Resources

Praise for Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee!

  • The irrepressible Ruby will worm her way into readers' hearts as she tries so hard to be useful. They will readily recognise the school setting and the pitfalls of an overexcited imagination causing lapses in concentration, but even this flaw in Ruby's world makes her a necessary part of the class makeup. - ReadPlus

  • Ruby Lee is a highly enthusiastic student with a big imagination. But when it comes to being chosen as classroom helper, she's not always the most efficient. Hark, it's me, Ruby Lee! is a wild and animated tale of learning patience, working to your skillset and being yourself.

  • Award-winning author Lisa Shanahan, together with graphic illustrator Binny, provide a linguistic and visual treat with their eccentric blend of humour and design. Shanahan's quirky names are just the beginning of the literary goodness, with dialogue that perks in all the right places, and a storyline that is so authentically realistic despite all the crazy and creative figments Ruby Lee imagines in her mind. And flawlessly, Binny's fantastical, detailed illustrations with blocks of colour and line work add that extra depth and meaning to both Ruby Lee's real and made-up worlds.

  • Preschool and early years children will adore being taken into Ruby Lee's school life as messenger as she discovers not how to be like someone else, but where her own strengths lie. Hark, it's me, Ruby Lee! plays out like a set of comical and whimsical scenes that will be requested to be delivered over and over again. - Boomerang Books

Read More Read Less
Write a Review

Reader reviews (1)

  • Ruby Lee is a little girl with a very BIG imagination Ruby Lee is a young girl who loves school and loves helping but never seems to get chosen for the jobs she really wants to do. Until one day, when the chosen helpers are away, Ruby Lee and her friend George Papadopoulos finally gets the opportunity to take a message to the office. However, Ruby Lee’s amazing imagination takes them a little off the track and no where near the office where the measure needs to be! Where they end up will surprise you and the colourful illustrations by Binny will allow you to extend your imagination even more! Back in the classroom, Ruby Lee, despite her best efforts to deliver the message, is disappointed….. until a pigeon flies into the classroom, and that is when she really discovers what she can do best. Lisa Shanahan integrates the ideas of creativity, friendship and finding your gifts into this story – showing the young reader that it is really important to be aware of your gifts and not focus on what others do best, but what you do best. A great read for those starting or continuing pre-school or primary school as it really highlights the importance of friends and the importance of believing in what you can do best. Educateempower.com.au

    Vanessa Rendall

    Rated 4
Read More Read Less

Lisa Shanahan

Lisa Shanahan is an award-winning writer of picture books and fiction for young people. Some of her well-loved books include GORDON'S GOT A SNOOKIE, illustrated by Wayne Harris, and BEAR AND CHOOK and DADDY'S HAVING A HORSE, illustrated by Emma Quay. Her picture book BEAR AND CHOOK BY THE SEA, illustrated by Emma Quay, won the CBCA Book of the Year for Early Childhood in 2010 and BIG PET DAY, illustrated by Gus Gordon, won the Speech Pathology Book of the Year Award for the 5-8 age group in 2015.

Lisa loves moon-gazing, making up words, mint slices, mock orange blossom, black cockatoos, shouts of unexpected laughter, the weight of a scruffy dog resting on her knee and cups of tea. She lives in Sydney, close to the river of her childhood, with her husband, their three sons and one bouncy spoodle.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay