Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

A Mother's Love: A compelling family saga of life s ups and downs

Lyn Andrews

8 Reviews

Rated 0

c 1918 to c 1939 (Inter-war period), Fiction, Sagas

A moving 1930s Liverpool saga from bestselling author Lyn Andrews, following the trials and tribulations of one family in their busy Liverpool pub.

A moving saga of family relationships and ambition in one Liverpool pub. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Ellie Dean and Dilly Court.

When an unexpected event turns life upside down, Eve must summon all her strength to protect her daughters . . .

1933. Eve and Eddie Dobson have been running the George pub in Liverpool for over twenty years. Now, though, the Depression is taking hold and, with money in short supply, it's galling for Eve that the barmaid they can barely afford spends the day making eyes at Eddie rather than pulling her weight behind the bar.

At least her three daughters seem happy. Lily's dreams of going on the stage haven't led her into trouble, so far. Sarah is content as a waitress, while Maggie's gently directing her devoted boyfriend to the altar.

But when Eddie's flirtation with the hired help takes an unexpected turn, everything changes, leaving none of Eve's family untouched . . . and calling on all the strength of a mother's love.

What readers are saying about A Mother's Love:

'Excellent writing from a brilliant author - five stars'

'Love Lyn Andrews' books... would highly recommend... great family story'

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Mother's Love: A compelling family saga of life s ups and downs

  • A MOTHER'S LOVE is another strongly-written saga that captures and holds the reader's attention from start to finish...an enjoyable, well-rounded novel' - Historical Novels Review

  • Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great! - Bookseller

  • A compelling read - Woman's Own

  • The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool - Northern Echo

  • An outstanding storyteller - Woman's Weekly

  • Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning - Daily Express

  • A vivid portrayal of life - Best

  • She has a realism that is almost palpable - Liverpool Echo

Read More Read Less

Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
Facebook: @LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @lynandrewsbooks

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay