Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio
  • Piatkus

When Darkness Calls: The thrilling first book in a nail-biting new crime series

Mark Griffin

4 Reviews

Rated 0

A Holly Wakefield thrill, Crime & mystery, Crime & criminology

The killing starts when the lights go out . . . The first thriller in a gripping new London-based crime series starring criminal psychologist Holly Wakefield. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Val McDermid and Peter James.

'A thrilling new talent' Peter James

'Mightily impressive . . . Deviously plotted' Daily Mail

'Utterly compelling' Lesley Kara

'As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster!' Amy Lloyd

THE KILLING STARTS WHEN THE LIGHTS GO OUT . . .

Holly Wakefield works as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself.

When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon.

Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past . . .

The thrilling first novel in an electrifying crime series starring criminal psychologist Holly Wakefield, perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

***DON'T MISS THE NEXT HOLLY WAKEFIELD THRILLER, WHEN ANGELS SLEEP***

What readers are saying about When Darkness Calls:

'Gripping, shocking, nail biting!' Reader review, 5 stars

'A must read book!' Reader review, 5 stars

'Outstanding!' Reader review, 5 stars

'A moving, intense rollercoaster!' Reader review, 5 stars

'You have to read this book!' Reader review, 5 stars

'Dark, twisty and disturbing' Reader review, 5 stars

'Brilliant . . . you won't want to put it down' Reader review, 5 stars

'Compulsive' Reader review, 5 stars

'One of the very best books I've read' Reader review, 5 stars

'I was glued to this cover to cover' Reader review, 5 stars

'Captivating, thrilling and brilliant' Reader review, 5 stars

'I lost count of how many times I held my breath - fantastic twists and turns' Reader review, 5 stars

'A fast-paced, page-turning thriller' Reader review, 5 stars

'So gripping, so cleverly written' Reader review, 5 stars

'An amazing storyline that kept me hooked' Reader review, 5 stars

Read More Read Less

Praise for When Darkness Calls: The thrilling first book in a nail-biting new crime series

  • Mightily impressive . . . deviously plotted, with a bleak thread of intriguing twists - Daily Mail

  • Mark Griffin is a thrilling new talent, destined to become a big name in British crime writing

  • Wow. I read this in less than a day. As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster! A fascinating lead character with a deliciously dark secret. It's the kind of writing which grabs you and won't let you go

  • Meticulously plotted and devious in its execution, Mark Griffin's debut novel is utterly compelling. I can't wait to read the rest of the Holly Wakefield series

Read More Read Less

Mark Griffin

Mark Griffin began his writing career when he was a teenager, with three successive years of gold medal awards in the Hampshire Writing Festival. In 1996 he moved to Los Angeles, where he turned his attention to acting, script writing and development.

After returning to England, Mark continued in this profession, and in April 2017 was shortlisted in the top five out of 3500 entrants in a national crime thriller writing competition sponsored by Random House Publishing and the Daily Mail for his debut, When Darkness Calls.

When Darkness Calls is the first thriller starring criminal psychologist Holly Wakefield and it was longlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award in 2019. When Angels Sleep is the second Holly Wakefield thriller.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay