Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost: The Martingale Cycle

Matthew Blakstad

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Thriller / suspense, Science fiction

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROR.

Early one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.

He smiles.

They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.

As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.

But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.

Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

LUCKY GHOST is part of the Martingale cycle, a series of interconnected novels exploring the life of computing pioneer and political radical Elyse Martingale - and her strange afterlife in the 21st century.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Lucky Ghost: The Martingale Cycle

  • Hurrah for tech and her fellow travellers - Interzone on SOCKPUPPET

  • Embedded with techy jargon and shards of wit, Sockpuppet takes a snapshot of our age of online shaming and oversharing and runs it through a skewed, feverish filter. The result is compelling. - FT on SOCKPUPPET

  • A fascinating and hair-raising examination of just how much we are in thrall to computers, and how willingly we give up our privacy. - Guardian on SOCKPUPPET

Read More Read Less

Matthew Blakstad

Matthew's first career was as a professional child actor. From the age of ten, he had roles in TV dramas, in the films and on stage at theatres including the Royal Court. After graduating from Oxford with a degree in Mathematics and Philosophy, he began a career in online communications, consulting for a wide range of clients from the BBC to major banks. Since 2008, he has been in public service, using his communication skills to help the British population understand and manage their money.In 2012 Matthew took the Writing a Novel course at Faber Academy. The Martingale Cycle, a series of standalone but interconnected novels, is his first series.