Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Wildfire

Peach Blossom Spring: A glorious, sweeping novel about family, migration and the search for a place to belong

Melissa Fu

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical fiction

An epic, powerful and intensely personal debut about war, migration, family, and the search for a place to call home. For fans of PACHINKO, WILD SWANS and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE

'Melissa Fu portrays the time, the culture, the place and the struggles of this family so vividly, with nuance and colour and life . . . A stunning achievement' CHRISTY LEFTERI, AUTHOR OF THE BEEKEEPER OF ALEPPO

'An immersive, expertly plotted and elegantly written novel . . . championing the vitality and ingenuity of the immigrant experience' SHARLENE TEO, AUTHOR OF PONTI
With every misfortune there is a blessing and within every blessing, the seeds of misfortune, and so it goes, until the end of time.

It is 1938 in China, and the Japanese are advancing. A young mother, Meilin, is forced to flee her burning city with her four-year-old son, Renshu, and embark on an epic journey across China. For comfort, they turn to their most treasured possession - a beautifully illustrated hand scroll. Its ancient fables offer solace and wisdom as they travel through their ravaged country, seeking refuge.

Years later, Renshu has settled in America as Henry Dao. His daughter is desperate to understand her heritage, but he refuses to talk about his childhood. How can he keep his family safe in this new land when the weight of his history threatens to drag them down?

Spanning continents and generations, Peach Blossom Spring is a bold and moving look at the history of modern China, told through the story of one family. It's about the power of our past, the hope for a better future, and the search for a place to call home.

'Glorious and tender, exquisitely written and beautifully nuanced' Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE

'Magical and powerful' Nguyen Phan Que Mai, author of THE MOUNTAINS SING

'Beautifully rendered' Georgia Hunter, author of WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES


'Captivating from beginning to end' Mira T Lee, author of EVERYTHING HERE IS BEAUTIFUL


'A brilliant multigenerational tale' Mary Lynn Bracht, author of WHITE CRYSANTHEMUM


'Accomplished and utterly gripping' Catherine Menon, author of FRAGILE MONSTERS

Read More Read Less

Praise for Peach Blossom Spring: A glorious, sweeping novel about family, migration and the search for a place to belong

  • A brilliant multigenerational tale that stretches across the decades from pre-WWII China to post-Cold War America. A captivating debut, Fu's novel is full of dynamic characters whose lives fill the pages with beauty and tragedy that tug on our heartstrings as they flee an everchanging China into the precarious worlds of first Taiwan and then America. It's a timely story of displaced Chinese immigrants searching for home and identity after war and revolution ravage their homeland

  • Magical, and powerful, Peach Blossom Spring brings to life the costs of wars and conflicts while illuminating the spirit of human survival. Inspired by her father's real-life experiences and her determination to comprehend her family's past, Melissa Fu has gifted us with a timely, moving, and universal novel

  • Melissa Fu chronicles a tumultuous period in Chinese history with stunning grace, while also offering us a fresh and important take on the immigrant story. In Dao Renshu's family journey-fleeing from China during WWII, then finding and refinding himself in America-I recognized so many pieces of my own. Captivating from beginning to end

  • What an immersive, expertly plotted and elegantly written novel. In its sweep and scope, it would appeal to fans of Madeleine Thien and Min Jin Lee and its lyrical voice - championing the vitality and ingenuity of the immigrant experience across three settings - confirms Melissa Fu as a writer to watch.

  • A beautifully rendered meditation on the trials and triumphs of a family torn apart by war, Peach Blossom Spring left me pondering how the stories we choose to pass down have the power not only to define us, but to buoy us -- to help us persevere through the most challenging of times

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay