Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus

Leave No Trace

Mindy Mejia

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

A hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller from the author of THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN for fans of Jane Harper's FORCE OF NATURE and Chris Whitaker's TALL OAKS

Ten years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Waters, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Congdon Mental Institution in Duluth, on the edge of mighty Lake Superior.

There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. In many ways he is old far beyond his years; in others, still a child.

But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Leave No Trace

  • A future star in crime writing - Daily Mail on The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

  • A haunting piece of fiction, full of characters whose self-obsession leads to tragedy - Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month on The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

  • Outstanding . . . quietly breathtaking - NZ Herald on The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

  • An utterly absorbing and original novel . . . Mindy Mejia is an exciting new voice on the crime scene

  • Mejia's writing crosses back and forth between exquisite literary descriptions and thrilleresque escapes and acts of violence - New York Journal of Books

Read More Read Less