Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Common Ground

Naomi Ishiguro

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A classic coming of age story in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN, from the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES

Did you ever have a friend who made you see the world differently?
From the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN.
It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects?
The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults at a London party. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan's help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Common Ground

  • Winsomely written and engagingly quirky - The Sunday Times

  • Stories that start like delicate webs, and finish like unbreakable wire traps - Neil Gaiman

  • Naomi Ishiguro threads magic through carefully observed realism. This is a writer whose voice I hope to be following for many years to come - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

Read More Read Less

Naomi Ishiguro

Naomi Ishiguro is the author of the acclaimed story collection, ESCAPE ROUTES. A former bookseller and Bibliotherapist at Mr B.'s Emporium in Bath, she now lives and writes in London. COMMON GROUND is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay