Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Escape Routes

Naomi Ishiguro

Write Review

Rated 0

Short stories

A delightfully speculative, quirky and magical debut story collection, for fans of David Mitchell and Angela Carter

'Stories that start like delicate webs and finish like unbreakable wire traps' - Neil Gaiman

Characterised by its own brand of pleasingly unsettling magic, Naomi Ishiguro's ESCAPE ROUTES matches the inventiveness of David Mitchell with the fairy-tale allure of Angela Carter.

A space-obsessed child conjures up a vortex in his mother's airing cupboard. A musician finds her friendship with a flock of birds opens up unexpected possibilities. A rat catcher, summoned to a decaying royal palace, is plunged into a battle for the throne of a ruined kingdom. Two newlyweds find themselves inhibited by the arrival in their lives of an outsized and watchful stuffed bear.

Whether snared in traps artfully laid for them, or those of their own making, the characters in Naomi Ishiguro's delightfully speculative debut collection yearn for freedom and flight, and find their worlds transformed beyond their wildest imaginings.

Read More Read Less

Naomi Ishiguro

Naomi Ishiguro studied writing at the University of East Anglia and is a former bookseller and bibliotherapist at Mr B.'s Emporium in Bath. She lives in London.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay