Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton

Girls of Paper and Fire

Natasha Ngan

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Selection in this stunning YA fantasy novel. Perfects for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Selection in this stunning YA fantasy novel. Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir.

'A timely reminder that, in the right hands, the fantasy genre has things to say about injustice and abuse of power in the real world' GUARDIAN

Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It's the highest honour they could hope for...and the most demeaning. This year, there's a ninth. And instead of paper, she's made of fire.

Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most persecuted class of people in Ikhara. Ten years ago, her mother was snatched by the royal guards, and her fate remains unknown. Now, the guards are back and this time it's Lei they're after - the girl with the golden eyes, whose rumoured beauty has piqued the king's interest.

Over weeks of training in the opulent but oppressive palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit a king's consort. There, Lei does the unthinkable - she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens her world's entire way of life. Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide how far she's willing to go for justice and revenge.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Girls of Paper and Fire

  • This gorgeous book is everything I want in a fantasy. Beautiful, lush, lyrical with fantastic world building and an epic forbidden romance, I devoured every word and was left desperately wanting more.

  • This gorgeous book is everything I want in a fantasy. Beautiful, lush, lyrical with fantastic world building and an epic forbidden romance, I devoured every word and was left desperately wanting more.

  • Get ready to be pulled into a lush, magical world, where two concubines must hide their forbidden love if they want to survive the Demon King's treacherous court. A fiery, spellbinding read.

  • Get ready to be pulled into a lush, magical world, where two concubines must hide their forbidden love if they want to survive the Demon King's treacherous court. A fiery, spellbinding read.

  • A timely reminder that, in the right hands, the fantasy genre has things to say about injustice and abuse of power in the real world - Guardian

  • A timely reminder that, in the right hands, the fantasy genre has things to say about injustice and abuse of power in the real world - Guardian

  • 'Girls of Paper and Fire is as lush - and brutal - as the Demon King's own court. Ngan is a stunning new talent.'

  • 'Girls of Paper and Fire is as lush - and brutal - as the Demon King's own court. Ngan is a stunning new talent.'

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Our Fave Own Voices YA

Right
Left
loading...

Our Fave Own Voices YA

Right

Natasha Ngan

Natasha Ngan is part young-adult author, part yoga-teacher, part habitual nap-taker. She grew up between Malaysia and the UK, speaking Chinese with her mother mainly as a way to talk about people without them understanding. She studied Geography at the University of Cambridge and later worked as a fashion blogger, social media consultant and freelance writer. Natasha recently moved to Paris, where she likes to imagine she drifts stylishly from brasserie to brasserie, notepad in one hand and wineglass in the other. In reality, she mostly spends her time lost on the metro and offending locals with her French.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay