Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

The Sweetness of Water: 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo

Nathan Harris

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical fiction

A powerful American debut set during the Civil War and portraying life after slavery in the vein of WASHINGTON BLACK and HOMEGOING

'An impressive debut by a storyteller with bountiful insight and assurance' Kirkus For readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END.

In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war.

When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . .

Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water:

'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' *****


'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' *****


'Thought-provoking and moving . . . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope. It fully deserves a 5-star rating' *****


'Outstanding . . . A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Sweetness of Water: 'Better than any debut novel has a right to be' Richard Russo

  • Gorgeous and deeply affecting in the tradition of James McBride and Colson Whitehead . . . I cannot recall such an assured, accomplished or extraordinarily imagined debut. A writer with impossibly rare talents and still rarer heart - Bret Anthony Johnston, author of REMEMBER ME LIKE THIS

  • What a gifted, assured writer Nathan Harris is. . . better than any debut novel has a right to be

  • To open Nathan Harris's first novel is to enter a trance. I can't think of any other book out there quite like it. The richness of his language and the exquisite details of the lives he creates produce a kind of waking dream, equally lyrical and threatening

  • Harris' lucid prose and vivid characterization illustrate a community at war with itself, poisoned by pride and mired in racial and sexual bigotry. . . Harris' first novel is an aching chronicle of loss, cruelty, and love in the wake of community devastation - Booklist, starred review

  • Ambitious debut . . . Harris writes in intelligent, down-to-earth prose and shows a keen understanding of his characters . . . Credible and deeply moving - Publishers Weekly

  • An impressive debut by a storyteller with bountiful insight and assurance - Kirkus

Read More Read Less

Nathan Harris

Nathan Harris is a Michener fellow at the University of Texas. He was awarded the Kidd prize, as judged by Anthony Doerr, and was also a finalist for the Tennessee Williams fiction prize. THE SWEETNESS OF WATER is his debut novel. He lives in Austin, Texas.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay