Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

This Mother’s Day, give the gift of a great story, and well deserved 'me time' to unwind, escape and be inspired.

While we have not had the chance to travel abroad, gift the mothers in your life a literary escape- spanning from ancient Greece to the forgotten libraries in Paris. From International New York Times Bestselling novels to stories crafted on our shores at home, we cannot think of a better gift to celebrate the mothers in our lives. 

  • The Performance - Claire Thomas

    From Melbourne author Claire Thomas comes an Australian literary fiction which touts wit and beauty. Timely as ever, this intergenerational feminist novel takes place over the space of a single theatre performance. Nearby, bushfires are engulfing the hills outside. Safe within the walls of the theatre, we encounter three women from vastly different walks of life; Margot a university professor, facing a difficult relationship with her ailing husband. Ivy, a philanthropist with a murky past, and Summer, a theatre usher, distracted by the thought of her girlfriend, stuck in the fire zone. Deeply affecting in nature, this intimate novel reveals the power of art in making us turn inward, as our leading characters grapple with notions of identity, shame and prejudice. A must read!

  • Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

    The International Bestseller and the Reese Witherspoon book club pick. Where the Crawdads Sing has been dubbed ‘Unforgettable’, ‘A rare achievement’ and ‘Vivid and original’. For years, rumours of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

  • Ariadne - Jennifer Saint

    Read the brilliant feminist debut that everyone is taking about. In the vein of Circe, A Song of Achilles and The Silence of the Girls comes Ariadne, a shimmering fiction debut which transports readers to ancient Greece in feminist retelling of the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths. Read the book which has been dubbed as immersive, mesmerizing, relevant and revelatory. From debut novelist, and lifelong mythology afficionado Jennifer Saint comes a riveting tale of myth and truth, love, sacrifice, and betrayal.

  • The Zookeeper of Belfast - S. Kirk Walsh

    A stunning World War Two novel for fans of Natasha Lester, Heather Morris, Kate Furnivall, Mandy Robotham, based on a true story. As the bombs rain down on the city, Belfast's first ever female zookeeper must fight to save the baby elephant in her charge in this gripping, uplifting tale based on a true story. A story sure to resonate with the mothers in your life- one that depicts what one woman's courage and tenacity can achieve in the direst of circumstances

  • The Paris Library - Janet Skeslien Charles

    The instant New York Times bestseller, inspired by the true story of the librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage, defiance, and betrayal in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society. Janet Skeslien Charles is an award-winning author with over a decade's worth of roaming the streets of Paris and researching in its libraries.

  • American Dirt - Jeanine Cummins

    Read the book which became an Instant New York Times Bestseller, and an instant Sunday Times top Ten Bestseller. With almost 1.5 Million copies sold globally. An extraordinary story of the lengths a mother will go to to save her son, American has sold over a million copies worldwide. It is time to read what you've been missing. Lydia Perez owns a bookshop in Acapulco, Mexico, and is married to a fearless journalist. Luca, their eight-year-old son, completes the picture. But it only takes a bullet to rip them apart.

Related news

loading...

Hachette Australia to Publish First Ever Autobiography by Billy Connolly

Hachette Australia is thrilled to announce Windswept and Interesting by Billy Connolly, which will be published on Thursday 14 October 2021.

loading...

Hachette Australia and Emerging Writers’ Festival present Inside the Publishing House

Hachette Australia is teaming up with the Emerging Writers’ Festival for a special one-day online experience on 12 March 2021 to demystify the inner workings of one of Australia’s biggest trade publishing houses.

loading...

Sonny Bill Williams to publish his autobiography with Hachette Australia on 13th October 2021

Much-decorated athlete Sonny Bill WIlliams will be telling his story for the first time in October

loading...

Who Are You? A Message to Mothers.

An Extract from How to Raise A Man by Megan de Beyer.

loading...

Hilarious Books For Kids

These books are so funny, readers of all ages will be holding their aching tummies from laughing so hard.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay