Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

This Mother’s Day, give the gift of a great story, and well deserved 'me time' to unwind, escape and be inspired.

While we may not have had the chance to travel abroad, gift the mothers in your life a literary escape – spanning from ancient Greece to the forgotten libraries in Paris. From International New York Times Bestselling novels to stories crafted on our shores at home, we cannot think of a better gift to celebrate the mothers in our lives. 

  • Other Women - Cathy Kelly

    Bestselling author Cathy Kelly brings you a refreshingly honest story about female friendship and marriage - and all the great loves of our life. Three women.Three secrets.Three tangled lives. In the messy reality of marriage, family and romance, sometimes it's the women in our lives who hold us together.

  • Dear Mum - Samuel Johnson

    From the team who gave you the bestselling DEAR SANTA, DEAR DAD and HEROES NEXT DOOR comes an honest, moving, emotionally memorable collection of letters to their mothers from some of Australia's most notable notables. The perfect gift for the mum (or mum figure) in your life!

  • The Warsaw Orphan - Kelly Rimmer

    Kelly Rimmer, bestselling Australian author of Truths I Never Told You and The Things We Cannot Say, has penned her most meticulously researched and emotionally compelling novel to date. Inspired by the real-life heroine who smuggled thousands of Jewish children to safety during WWII, the powerful new novel by the New York Times bestselling author.

  • My Daughter's Wedding - Gretel Killeen

    My Daughter's Wedding is both hilarious and profound as it explores the confounding complexity, wild terrain, mountains, valleys and quicksand found in three generations of mother-daughter love.

  • The Road Trip - Beth O'Leary

    What if the end of the road is just the beginning? Two exes reach a new level of awkward when forced to take a road trip together in this endearing and humorous novel by the author of the international bestseller The Flatshare.

  • Three Weddings and a Proposal - Sheila O'Flanagan

    At the first wedding, there's a shock. The second wedding is unexpected. By the third, Delphie thinks nothing could surprise her. But she's wrong. The gripping new novel from the author of the No. 1 bestsellers THE WOMEN WHO RAN AWAY and THE MISSING WIFE.

  • The Performance - Claire Thomas

    From Melbourne author Claire Thomas comes an Australian literary fiction which touts wit and beauty. Timely as ever, this intergenerational feminist novel takes place over the space of a single theatre performance. Nearby, bushfires are engulfing the hills outside. Safe within the walls of the theatre, we encounter three women from vastly different walks of life; Margot a university professor, facing a difficult relationship with her ailing husband. Ivy, a philanthropist with a murky past, and Summer, a theatre usher, distracted by the thought of her girlfriend, stuck in the fire zone. Deeply affecting in nature, this intimate novel reveals the power of art in making us turn inward, as our leading characters grapple with notions of identity, shame and prejudice. A must read!

  • Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

    The International Bestseller and the Reese Witherspoon book club pick. Where the Crawdads Sing has been dubbed ‘Unforgettable’, ‘A rare achievement’ and ‘Vivid and original’. For years, rumours of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

  • Ariadne - Jennifer Saint

    Read the brilliant feminist debut that everyone is taking about. In the vein of Circe, A Song of Achilles and The Silence of the Girls comes Ariadne, a shimmering fiction debut which transports readers to ancient Greece in feminist retelling of the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths. Read the book which has been dubbed as immersive, mesmerizing, relevant and revelatory. From debut novelist, and lifelong mythology afficionado Jennifer Saint comes a riveting tale of myth and truth, love, sacrifice, and betrayal.

  • The Zookeeper of Belfast - S. Kirk Walsh

    A stunning World War Two novel for fans of Natasha Lester, Heather Morris, Kate Furnivall, Mandy Robotham, based on a true story. As the bombs rain down on the city, Belfast's first ever female zookeeper must fight to save the baby elephant in her charge in this gripping, uplifting tale based on a true story. A story sure to resonate with the mothers in your life- one that depicts what one woman's courage and tenacity can achieve in the direst of circumstances

  • The Paris Library - Janet Skeslien Charles

    The instant New York Times bestseller, inspired by the true story of the librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage, defiance, and betrayal in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Janet Skeslien Charles is an award-winning author with over a decade's worth of roaming the streets of Paris and researching in its libraries.

  • American Dirt - Jeanine Cummins

    Read the book which became an Instant New York Times Bestseller, and an instant Sunday Times top Ten Bestseller. With almost 1.5 Million copies sold globally. An extraordinary story of the lengths a mother will go to to save her son, American has sold over a million copies worldwide. It is time to read what you've been missing. Lydia Perez owns a bookshop in Acapulco, Mexico, and is married to a fearless journalist. Luca, their eight-year-old son, completes the picture. But it only takes a bullet to rip them apart.

Related news

loading...

Hachette Australia Children’s Books: Open Licences and Permissions for Virtual Storytime for Local Lockdown

In the current climate of uncertainty surrounding school closures and access to books, Hachette Australia will be granting free permissions for online story-time events for those areas in a local lockdown.

loading...

Dr Norman Swan On Tour

Meet Dr Norman Swan as he tours Australia to promote his new book - So You Think You Know What's Good For You?

loading...

Read with Pride: Our YA Selection!

It's pride month so we thought we'd share some of our favourite LGBTQIA+ reads!

loading...

The best romances by Christina Lauren

Choosing which Christina Lauren we love most is so hard, but someone has to do it!

loading...

Hachette Australia Acquires Dr Michael Mosley's The Fast 800 Keto

The latest title in Dr Mosley’s multimillion-copy bestselling series will be published by Hachette in the UK, US, Australia and New Zealand.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay