Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

The FESTIVAL OF MUM is coming and it's time to get mum ready to #EscapeToThePages! Here are some of the Hachette staff picks for the lovely Mums in their lives. 

Take a look at all our Mother's Day favourites here.

BEFORE I LET YOU GO by Kelly Rimmer

Picked by Kelly, Junior Marketing Executive

KJI would give this book to my mum because we both love to sit and talk loudly (often over each other) about issues based books, and the situations the characters - particularly family members - find themselves in. I think it brings us closer together.

 


THE CACTUS by Sarah Haywood 

Picked by Jemma, Publicity Coordinator
JR

If you throw dry humour, a prickly heroine and a happy ending that isn’t cliched into a book, it’s the perfect recipe for my mum. If the same book is an incredible mixture of The Rosie Project and Bridget Jones Diary -  say no more! I can picture my mum reading this in bed, laughing herself senseless until the early hours of the morning. 


 

 

 


THE SECRETS AT OCEAN'S EDGE by Kali Napier

Picked by Sarah, Digital Marketing Coordinator
SH

My mum loves a great book but she REALLY loves it when a great book is set in Australia. Historical fiction is her go-to so this will be the perfect pick for Mother’s Day. Maybe I’ll move up the rankings and become the favourite child after this!
 

 

TANGERINE by Christine Mangan

Picked by Linda, Account Manager

LBMum is very well read and will appreciate this intelligent tightly wound psychological thriller set in exotic Morocco. 

 

 


100 NASTY WOMEN OF HISTORY by Hannah Jewell

Picked by Suzanne, Children's Book Publisher

SOSI’m giving my mum 100 Nasty Women of History because, like them, she is brilliant, badass and completely fearless. She’s always taught me that women can and have achieved brilliant things. 

 



THE YEAR THAT CHANGED EVERYTHING by Cathy Kelly

Picked by Louise, Managing Director 

My mum is a massive Cathy Kelly fan, so this Mother’s Day is a no-brainer!

 




 




THE PARIS SEAMSTRESS by Natasha Lester

Picked by Nicky, Account Manager

NLShe has absolutely adored Natasha’s previous books; A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald and Her Mother’s Secret, rating the research as peerless and full of mesmerizing nuggets and the storytelling as having the ability to completely transport. I know she is fascinated with the old fashion ateliers in Paris, and I think the Grandmother/Grandaughter angle will appeal too. I see this being an absolute winner!

 

 

HAPPY by Fearne Cotton

Picked by Stacey, Publishing Assistant
MUMFEST

I’m picking up a copy of Happy: The Journal for my Mum this Mother’s Day as she is the ultimate perfectionist, and sometimes needs help unwinding from the pressures of moulding young minds (she’s a primary school teacher). 

 

 






 

THE SECRETS AT OCEAN'S EDGE by Kali Napier

Picked by Andrew, National and Online Accounts Manager
AC

I can't wait to gift mum this wonderful sweeping family saga from one of Australia's most talented writers, Kali Napier. After raising a family nowhere near the ocean and living an existence largely devoid of secrets, I know she's going to love Secrets as much as I did.

 

 

 



 

TANGERINE by Christine Mangan

Picked by Chloe, Marketing and Publicity Coordinator

CBH
My pick for mum is Tangerine, because she loves a great thriller and this one will take her all the way to Morocco – she deserves a holiday even if just in the pages!

 

 

 


FORGOTTEN WOMEN: THE LEADERS by Zing Tsjeng

Picked by Tonile, Digital Marketing coordinator and Product Executive
TW

I’m an only child and she was a single parent, so she was my leader and she helped me grow up to be the woman I am today. She’s a high school teacher and I hope that she could use Zing Tsjeng’s inspirational book of kickass women from history to inspire a new generation of leaders.













 

  • Before I Let You Go - Kelly Rimmer

    Your sister needs you. But her child needs you more... A moving page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose? Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes will love Australia's Kelly Rimmer. As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leather-bound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears... As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict - a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie's newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?

  • The Cactus - Sarah Haywood

    IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BLOOM. People aren't sure what to make of Susan Green - a prickly independent woman, who has everything just the way she wants it and who certainly has no need for messy emotional relationships. Family and colleagues find her stand-offish and hard to understand, but Susan makes perfect sense to herself, and that's all she needs. At forty-five, she thinks her life is perfect, as long as she avoids her feckless brother, Edward - a safe distance away in Birmingham. She has a London flat which is ideal for one; a job that suits her passion for logic; and a personal arrangement providing cultural and other, more intimate, benefits. Yet suddenly faced with the loss of her mother and, implausibly, with the possibility of becoming a mother herself, Susan's greatest fear is being realised: she is losing control. When she discovers that her mother's will inexplicably favours her brother, Susan sets out to prove that Edward and his equally feckless friend Rob somehow coerced this dubious outcome. But when problems closer to home become increasingly hard to ignore, she finds help in the most unlikely of places.

  • Tangerine - Christine Mangan

    The perfect read for fans of Daphne du Maurier and Patricia Highsmith, set in 1950s Morocco, TANGERINE is a gripping psychological literary thriller. The last person Alice Shipley expected to see since arriving in Tangier with her new husband was Lucy Mason. After the horrific accident at Bennington, the two friends - once inseparable roommates - haven't spoken in over a year. But Lucy is standing there, trying to make things right. Perhaps Alice should be happy. She has not adjusted to life in Morocco, too afraid to venture out into the bustling medinas and oppressive heat. Lucy, always fearless and independent, helps Alice emerge from her flat and explore the country. But soon a familiar feeling starts to overtake Alice - she feels controlled and stifled by Lucy at every turn. Then Alice's husband, John, goes missing, and Alice starts to question everything around her: her relationship with her enigmatic friend, her decision to ever come to Tangier, and her very own state of mind.

  • 100 Nasty Women of History - Hannah Jewell

    100 fascinating and brilliantly written stories about history's bravest, baddest but little known 'nasty' women from across the world. In the final debate of the 2016 US presidential election, Donald Trump leaned into the microphone as Hillary Clinton spoke about social security and called his opponent 'such a nasty woman'. The phrase has stuck around and has since become something of a badge of honour for women around the world. What better time than now, then, for us to look back and learn a thing or two from the 'nasty' women of the past? Compiled and written by BuzzFeed writer Hannah Jewell, 100 NASTY WOMEN OF HISTORY contains profiles of women from across every century, race and continent, united in the fact that they were all a bit 'nasty'. From 3rd-century Japanese Empress Jingu to 20th-century British social reformer Octavia Hill, these are the women who were bold and powerful, but maybe put people (men's) backs up by being so. 100 NASTY WOMEN OF HISTORY is an accessible, intelligent, hilarious (and sometimes sweary) guide to the history-making women whom you probably don't know - but definitely should.

  • The Paris Seamstress - Natasha Lester

    How much will a young Parisian seamstress sacrifice to make her mark in the male-dominated world of 1940s New York fashion? From the bestselling author of A KISS FROM MR FITZGERALD and HER MOTHER'S SECRET. 1940. Parisian seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee France as the Germans advance. She is bound for Manhattan with a few francs, one suitcase, her sewing machine and a dream: to have her own atelier. 2015. Australian curator Fabienne Bissette journeys to the annual Met Gala for an exhibition of her beloved grandmother's work - one of the world's leading designers of ready-to-wear clothing. But as Fabienne learns more about her grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and secrets - and the sacrifices made for love. Crossing generations, society's boundaries and international turmoil, THE PARIS SEAMSTRESS is the beguiling, transporting story of the special relationship between a grandmother and her granddaughter as they attempt to heal the heartache of the past.

  • Happy - Fearne Cotton

    The best-selling journal from Mind ambassador Fearne Cotton, featuring ideas to help you unlock that inner happiness throughout the year and a beautiful rose-gold-foil cover 'Welcome to HAPPY: The Journal. A place for you to express, wind down, reflect and take stock of all that is rumbling along in your life. Dip into its pages as often and for as long as you like - whilst this book is open it's all about YOU!'

  • The Year That Changed Everything - Cathy Kelly

    Three women celebrate their birthdays . . . 30. 40. 50. But their milestone birthdays mark the start of a year that will change everything . . . Ginger isn't spending her 30th the way she would have planned. Tonight might be the first night of the rest of her life - or a total disaster. Sam is finally pregnant after years of trying. When her waters break on the morning of her 40th birthday, she panics: forget labour, how is she going to be a mother? Callie is celebrating her 50th at a big party in her Dublin home. Then a knock at the door mid-party turns her perfect life upside down . . .

  • Forgotten Women The Leaders - Zing Tsjeng

    FORGOTTEN WOMEN is a new series of books that uncover the lost herstories of influential women who have refused over hundreds of years to accept the hand they've been dealt and, as a result, have formed, shaped and changed the course of our futures. From leaders and scientists to artists and writers, the fascinating stories of these women that time forgot are now celebrated, putting their achievements firmly back on the map. THE LEADERS weaves together 48* unforgettable portraits of the true pioneers and leaders who made huge yet unacknowledged contributions to history, including Grace O'Malley, the 16th century Irish pirate queen; Sylvia Rivera, who spearheaded the modern transgender rights movement; and Agent 355, the unknown rebel spy who played a pivotal role in the American Revolution. Chapters including Rebels; Warriors; Rulers; Activists and Reformers shine a light on the rebellious women who defied the odds, and the opposition, to change the world around them.

Related news