Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adult & contemporary romance

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why?

'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore.

Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets...

1958
. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous...

Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?

How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever.

'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan.

'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox

Read More Read Less

Nikola Scott

Nikola Scott was born and raised in Germany and studied at university there. Having been obsessed with books from a young age, Nikola moved to New York City after her Master's degree to begin her first job in book publishing - a career in which she could fully indulge her love of fiction. She spent ten years working in publishing in New York and then in London, editing other people's books, before she decided to take the leap into becoming a full-time writer herself. She now lives in Germany with her husband and two sons.