Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review

The Orchard Girls

Nikola Scott

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

From war-torn Kent to modern-day London, Nikola Scott's powerful new novel about family secrets spanning a generation is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Praise for Nikola Scott: 'An emotional and involving story' - Woman & Home

London, 2004. Growing up, Frankie didn't always have it easy. But her life is firmly back on track these days and the memory of the painful rift with her beloved grandmother slowly fading. It's not until their paths cross again, however, that Frankie realises the past is far from over. And more: that her grandmother harbours a devastating secret that could tear both of their lives apart.

Somerset, 1940. When seventeen-year-old Violet's life is devastated by the London Blitz, she runs away to join the Women's Land Army, wanting nothing more than to leave her grief behind. But as well as the terror of enemy air raids, the land girls at Winterbourne Orchards face a powerful enemy closer to home. Before long, their friendship and courage will be put to the test, on a night that must be kept secret for ever . . .

PRAISE FOR NIKOLA SCOTT:

'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies, author of The Tuscan Contessa
'An atmospheric and gripping read.' My Weekly
'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous
'Characters you won't forget' Sunday Express

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Orchard Girls

  • Praise for Nikola Scott: 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant - Fabulous

  • A compelling family story... beautifully written... evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s

  • An emotional and involving story - Woman & Home

  • A satisfying tale with characters you wont forget - Sunday Express

  • A delightful debut about family and secrets - Prima

  • A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose

Read More Read Less

Nikola Scott

Nikola Scott started her career in book publishing before she became a writer herself a decade later. Her acclaimed debut novel, My Mother's Shadow, was translated into over thirteen languages and became a long-running bestseller in Norway. Her second novel, Summer of Secrets, was also published widely around the world. Nikola lives in Frankfurt with her husband and two sons.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay