Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review

The Orchard Girls: The evocative and heartbreaking new novel of friendship, love and family secrets . . .

Nikola Scott

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

<FONT SIZE="+1">From war-torn Somerset to modern-day London, Nikola Scott's powerful new novel about family secrets spanning a generation is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.</FONT>

Praise for Nikola Scott: 'An emotional and involving story' - Woman & Home

London, 2004. Frankie didn't always have it easy. Growing up motherless, she was raised by her grandmother, who loved her - and betrayed her. For years, the rift between them seemed irreparable. But when their paths suddenly cross again, Frankie is shocked to realise that her grandmother is slowly losing control of her memory. There is a darkness in her past that won't stay buried - secrets going back to wartime that may have a devastating effect on Frankie's own life.

Somerset, 1940. When seventeen-year-old Violet's life is ripped apart by the London Blitz, she runs away to join the Women's Land Army. She wants nothing more than to leave her grief behind. But as well as the terror of enemy air raids, the land girls at Winterbourne Orchards face a powerful enemy closer to home. One terrible night, their courage will be put to the test - and the truth of what happened must be kept hidden, for ever . . .

PRAISE FOR NIKOLA SCOTT:

'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies, author of The Tuscan Contessa

'An atmospheric and gripping read.' My Weekly

'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous
'Characters you won't forget' Sunday Express

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Orchard Girls: The evocative and heartbreaking new novel of friendship, love and family secrets . . .

  • Praise for Nikola Scott: 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant - Fabulous

  • A compelling family story... beautifully written... evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s

  • An emotional and involving story - Woman & Home

  • A satisfying tale with characters you wont forget - Sunday Express

  • A delightful debut about family and secrets - Prima

Read More Read Less

Nikola Scott

Nikola Scott started her career in book publishing before she became a writer herself a decade later. Her acclaimed debut novel, My Mother's Shadow, was translated into over thirteen languages and became a long-running bestseller in Norway. Her second novel, Summer of Secrets, was also published widely around the world. Nikola lives in Frankfurt with her husband and two sons.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay