Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

Bessie's War

Pamela Evans

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Sagas

A heartwarming and poignant saga set in wartime London by Pam Evans, the much-loved author of A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW and DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY.

A moving and nostalgic saga from Pam Evans, set in London during wartime. Perfect for readers of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Dilly Court.

It is autumn 1940 and, as the bombs rain down on London, a close-knit community struggles to survive.

Working at the local post office, Bessie Green does her best to keep her customers' spirits up, but when she receives a telegram addressed to her parents, there's nothing she can do to prevent the heartache that lies ahead.

Then Bessie hears that eleven-year-old Daisy Mason has been orphaned in a blast, and she's sure that taking Daisy into their home is just what her parents need to help them overcome their grief. At first, Daisy won't settle, then her handsome brother Josh comes back on leave and things look up for all of them. But the war brings further challenges for Bessie and her friends - with more hearts broken and loved-ones lost - before they can dare to dream of a brighter future...

Readers love Pam Evans heartwarming family sagas:

'A touching novel' Daily Express

'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' Our Time

'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' Bolton News

'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters' Lancashire Evening Post

'This book touched me very, very much. It's lovely' North Wales Chronicle

Read More Read Less

Praise for Bessie's War

  • Praise for Pam Evans' well-loved family sagas: 'A touching novel' - Daily Express

  • An unforgettable tale of life during the war - Our Time

  • Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel - Bolton News

  • There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters - Lancashire Evening Post

Read More Read Less

Pamela Evans

Pam Evans was born and brought up in Ealing, London. She now lives in Surrey, near to her family and five beautiful grandchildren. For more information about Pam and her novels visit www.pamevansbooks.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay