Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical adventure, Historical fiction

An intoxicating collage of lives intersecting around a building in Bangkok.

Places remember us. . .

A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok.
A musician plays a private show for ghosts.
A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street.
A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face.
A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer.

Lurching through decades, from Bagkok's rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads.

For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay