Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Light of the Midnight Stars

Rena Rossner

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

A magical new stand-alone novel with an entrancing fairy tale feel, from the author of the highly acclaimed The Sisters of the Winter Wood. Deep in the Hungarian woods, the sacred magic of King Solomon lives on in his descendants. Gathering under the midnight stars, they pray, sing and perform small miracles - and none are more gifted than the great Rabbi Isaac and his three daughters. Each one is blessed with a unique talent - whether it be coaxing plants to grow, or predicting the future by reading the path of the stars.

When a fateful decision to help an outsider ends in an accusation of witchcraft, fire blazes through their village. Rabbi Isaac and his family are forced to flee, to abandon their magic and settle into a new way of life. But a dark fog is making its way across Europe and will, in the end, reach even those who thought they could run from it. Each of the sisters will have to make a choice - and change the future of their family forever.

Enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history . . . perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale and Spinning Silver.

Praise for Rena Rossner:

'Luscious and hypnotic . . . A gripping, powerful story' Madeline Miller, author of Song of Achilles and Circe

'A rich literary fairytale' Robert Dinsdale, author of The Toymakers

'A stunning tapestry of a story unlike anything I've ever read' Sara Holland, author of Everless 'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Light of the Midnight Stars

  • With luscious and hypnotic prose, Rena Rossner tells a gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood . . . I gulped it down!

  • An incredible achievement - a rich literary fairy tale. The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together

  • A stunning tapestry of a story unlike anything I've ever read. Laya and Liba are going to stick with me for a long, long time

Read More Read Less

Rena Rossner

Rena Rossner hails from Miami Beach, Florida. She is a graduate of the Johns Hopkins University Writing Seminars Program, she studied at Trinity College, Dublin and holds an MA in history from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Her debut novel, THE SISTERS OF THE WINTER WOOD was listed as 'One of the 100 Best Books' of the year by Publisher's Weekly. She currently lives in Israel with her husband, five children, and a pug, where she works as a literary agent at the Deborah Harris Literary Agency. Her grandparents and great grandparents are from Russia, Ukraine, Moldova, Hungary and Romania. Their stories inspire her work.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay