Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

A magical debut with a fairy tale feel that will break your heart... Perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Bear and the Nightingale and Uprooted

'AN ENCHANTING AND MESMERISING TALE OF SISTERLY LOVE' Sarah Beth Durst

'An incredible achievement - A rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Robert Dinsdale, author of The Toymakers

Every family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story. In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.

As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all.

Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.


'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan

'A luminous debut by an exciting new talent' Ilana C. Myer 'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney 'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Read More Read Less

Praise for The Sisters of the Winter Wood

  • An incredible achievement - a rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together, it's far too easy to get lost in the forests between the pages and disappear for days on end - Robert Dinsdale, author of THE TOYMAKERS

  • Mixes fairy tale, poetry, history, and heart to create an enchanting and mesmerizing tale of sisterly love. I adored this book! - Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series

  • A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense - Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES

  • [An] intricately crafted, gorgeously rendered debut . . . Full of heart, history, and enchantment - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review)

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay