Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit
  • Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

A magical debut with a fairy tale feel that will break your heart... Perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Bear and the Nightingale, and Uprooted

A magical tale of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Raised in a small village surrounded by vast forests, Liba and Laya have lived a peaceful sheltered life - even if they've heard of troubling times for Jews elsewhere. When their parents travel to visit their dying grandfather, the sisters are left behind in their home in the woods.

But before they leave, Liba discovers the secret that their Tati can transform into a bear, and their Mami into a swan. Perhaps, Liba realizes, the old fairy tales are true. She must guard this secret carefully, even from her beloved sister.

Soon a troupe of mysterious men appear in town and Laya falls under their spell-despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And these are not the only dangers lurking in the woods...

The sisters will need each other if they are to become the women they need to be - and save their people from the dark forces that draw closer.

Captivating and boldly imaginative, with a tale of sisterhood at its heart, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a world filled with magic, folklore and the dangers of the woods.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Sisters of the Winter Wood

  • A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel. Its characters are fantastical and yet essentially human, bound by ambition and desire, fear and prejudice, but above all, love in all its forms . . . Simply gorgeous book in every sense - Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES

  • Rossner weaves an elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril - J. Kathleen Cheney

  • The Sisters of the Winter Wood mixes fairy tale, poetry, history, and heart to create an enchanting and mesmerizing tale of sisterly love. I adored this book! - Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series

  • This dark fairy tale about sisterly love and Jewish strength and courage, set against the backdrop of a deep and deadly winter forest, will haunt me for a long time. A powerful, emotional debut - Julie C. Dao, author of FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS

  • An enthralling debut - Lavie Tidhar, World Fantasy Award-winning author

Read More Read Less