Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Something to Live For: Brilliant I adored this! Beth O Leary, bestselling author of THE FLATSHARE

Richard Roper

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

With the warmth of David Nicholls and the charm and humour of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Something to Live For explores one man's attempts to let go of the past and start his life afresh.

Curl up with the page-turning story full of heart that has readers raving, about Andrew, who has forgotten how to live, and Peggy, who helps him remember...

****

'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Guest List
'I adored this! It warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together' Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of The Flatshare
'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of After the End
'Funny, fresh and achingly tender. Richard's writing hooked me in from the very first page' Cathy Bramley, bestselling author of A Patchwork Family

****

MEET ANDREW.

Everybody likes Andrew. But they don't really know him. They know what he's told them - that he's happily married with two kids. Living the kind of life that's either so boring it's true, or so perfect it's a lie...

ENTER PEGGY.

Peggy arrives in Andrew's life in a burst of kindness and possibility. For the first time in ages, Andrew feels alive again. So now that he has everything to lose, can he risk it all and tell Peggy the truth?

'If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read' Fabulous

-------------------------

See what everyone is saying about this charming, uplifting bestseller - from your favourite authors to other readers!

'A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!' Matt Dunn
'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page
'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne
'It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart' Gill Hornby
'A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story' Dinah Jefferies

'My favourite read this year *****'
'An emotional rollercoaster of a read *****'
'I couldn't put this down *****'
'I haven't laughed so much in a long time *****'
'The end left me smiling *****'

Read More Read Less

Praise for Something to Live For: Brilliant I adored this! Beth O Leary, bestselling author of THE FLATSHARE

  • A charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. - BBC News Online, Top Fiction of 2019

  • Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope, in this witty debut - Phaedra Patrick, international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and Rise & Shine, Benedict Stone

  • Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. - Clare Mackintosh

  • Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!

  • Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine - Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters

Read More Read Less

Richard Roper

Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there.

Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay