Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Something to Live For: If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read: the most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel of the year!

Richard Roper

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

With the warmth of David Nicholls and the charm and humour of ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE, SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR For explores one man's attempts to let go of the past and start his life afresh.

'If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read. We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut' Fabulous Magazine

'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

Sometimes you have to risk everything to find your something...

All Andrew wants is to be normal. He has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that's what he's told people.

The truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think and his little white lie is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's about time for him to start.

Your favourite authors have all got Something to Live For...

'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page, bestselling author of The Lido 'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne, bestselling author of How Do You Like Me Now?

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me Lie

'I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. What an extraordinary debut' Gill Hornby, bestselling author of The Hive

'Endearing and delightful' Prima Book of the Month

'Funny, tender and all-the-feels' Red

'A perfect, quirky summer page-turner. A life-affirming debut' The Times


** This book is published in the US under the title How Not to Die Alone **

Read More Read Less

Praise for Something to Live For: If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read: the most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel of the year!

  • A charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. - BBC News Online, Top Fiction of 2019

  • Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope, in this witty debut - Phaedra Patrick, international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and Rise & Shine, Benedict Stone

  • Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. - Clare Mackintosh

  • Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!

  • Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine - Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters

  • Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it. - Libby Page, author of THE LIDO

  • A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!

  • Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut. - Gill Hornby

Read More Read Less

Richard Roper

Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there.


Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay