Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Narrowboat Girls

Rosie Archer

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical romance, Sagas

Nostalgic, heartwarming Second World War saga for fans of Daisy Styles and Elaine Everest

'One of the nation's favourite wartime saga writers ... creating a warm and engrossing sense of nostalgia that cannot help but seduce' Lancashire Evening Post

Spring 1944, and the war shows no sign of stopping. In Hampshire, Elsie is desperate for a new start after her husband leaves her. When her friend Izzy, herself planning an escape from her abusive boyfriend, tells her about the wartime jobs going for women on the canal boats, she jumps at the chance.

Their new boss, Dorothy, is kind and fair, but it's clear she has a secret of her own. Their crew is completed by Tolly, searching for a new vocation now that her dream job has been snatched away. The work is hard, but together they pitch in, and through shared ups and downs they forge close friendships that will see them through the darkest times.

What none of them could have predicted is just how much working on the canals will change their lives. Could it really be that what started as a means of escape will end up giving each of them everything they ever wanted?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Narrowboat Girls

  • A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal - Lancashire Evening Post on The Factory Girls

  • A nostalgic story packed with drama, tension, passion and the grim realities of life in wartime England - Lancashire Evening Post on The Munitions Girls

Read More Read Less