Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio

The Mother's Day Club

Rosie Hendry

Write Review

Rated 0

Second World War fiction, Historical fiction

The first book in the brand new heart-warming and nostalgic WWII saga series WOMEN ON THE HOME FRONT, from reader favourite Rosie Hendry. The perfect Mother's Day saga!

THE BRAND NEW SAGA SERIES BY ROSIE HENDRY - meet the Women on the Home Front . . .

Norfolk, 1939

When the residents of Great Plumstead, a small and charming community in Norfolk, agree to open up their homes to evacuees from London, they're expecting to care for children. So when a train carrying expectant mothers pulls into the station, the town must scramble together to accommodate their unexpected new arrivals . . .

Pregnant Marianne was delighted to learn she'd be leaving London and heading to the scenic Norfolk countryside. Having lost her employment after falling pregnant out of wedlock, Marianne is determined to make a fresh start for herself and her unborn child. But that means pretending to her new neighbours that she is married, her husband away at war, and deep down she knows it's a lie that can only last for so long . . .

Local lady Thea opens up her beautiful home, Rookery House, to the evacuee mothers, her large abode feeling much too big and lonely for just herself. Her sister Prue does the same, but Prue's husband is less than happy about their new house guests, and she begins to fear his anger will become too hard to ignore.

The ladies of Great Plumstead, old and new, are fighting their own battles on the Home Front - but can the community come together in a time of need to protect their own?

The Mother's Day Club is the perfect wartime family saga, filled with heart-warming friendships, nostalgic community spirit and a courageous make-do-and-mend attitude. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Sheila Newberry and Elaine Everest.

Read More Read Less

Rosie Hendry

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband and two children. She is the author of the East End Angels series, which is an uplifting and heart-warming saga series following the lives and loves of Winnie, Frankie and Bella, who all work for the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service (LAAS) during the Blitz. Listening to her father's tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie's interest in this period and she loves researching further, searching out gems of real life events which inspire her writing.

Keep up-to-date with Rosie by following her on Twitter (@hendry_rosie), becoming her friend on Facebook (rosie.hendry.94) or visiting her website (www.rosiehendry.com).

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay