Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton

Time Will Tell

Sally Worboyes

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical romance, Sagas

A gripping family saga in which a pregnancy must be concealed at all costs - perfect for fans of Call the Midwife.

September 1953, London's East End. Edie Birch, who believes herself to be a war widow, has finally allowed herself to fall in love again.

Engaged to be married, she is happily planning her wedding day. But fate has a blow in store - her 15-year-old daughter, Maggie, is pregnant. A plan has been hatched to stop her daughter from falling from grace.

Hidden away above an Italian cafe in Islington until she is ready to give birth Maggie works long hours behind the scenes while her mother Edie feigns pregnancy. The charade works until the baby arrives and hard decisions are to be made.

Can Maggie return home and cope with the pretense of her own child being her brother? And will the truth out once Edie's first husband turns up to demand his rights as grandfather?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Time Will Tell

  • A rich, vivid, three-dimensional and gutsy narrative - Eastern Daily Press

  • Unbridled passions run riot - Daily Mail on WILD HOPS

  • A vivid evocation of a way of life - East Anglian Daily Times

  • Sizzles with passion - Guardian on WILD HOPS

Read More Read Less

Sally Worboyes

Sally Worboyes was born and grew up in Stepney with four brothers and a sister, and she brings some of the raw history of her own family background to her East End sagas. She now lives in Norfolk with her husband, with whom she has three grown-up children. She has written several plays which have been broadcast on Anglia Television and Radio Four. She also adapted her own play and novel, WILD HOPS, as a musical, The Hop Pickers.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay