Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Letters from the Dead: The new stiflingly atmospheric, wonderfully dark Thomas Bexley mystery

Sam Hurcom

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

The next stifling, atmospheric gothic crime novel following one of the world's first forensic photographers - for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions and Little Strangers.

A year after 'the affair' in Dinas Powys, Thomas Bexley has become a drunkard and recluse, haunted daily by terrible visions of the dead, visions he cannot explain or truly understand. But when news of a spate of extraordinary kidnappings reaches him, Thomas is shocked to learn that his dear friend and former mentor, Professor Elijah Hawthorn, is the lead suspect.

Discovering a plea for help from Hawthorn claiming to have unearthed a gruesome conspiracy at the heart of the Metropolitan Police force, Thomas embarks on a journey to find the missing Hawthorn and prove his innocence.

But wherever Thomas goes, he is followed by the dead, and as the mystery of Hawthorn's disappearance deepens, so too does the conspiracy in the MET and Thomas's apparently growing insanity...

How can Thomas be certain of the truth when he can't trust anybody around him, not even himself...?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Letters from the Dead: The new stiflingly atmospheric, wonderfully dark Thomas Bexley mystery

  • A sparkling debut from a name to watch. Hurcom expertly weaves a tale of claustrophobic suspicion set in a Welsh village a few miles from Cardiff - but so inward-looking and insular you might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale

  • A promising debut - gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark - Guardian on A SHADOW ON THE LENS

  • An intriguing debut - The Times on A SHADOW ON THE LENS

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay