Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical fiction

A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of THE ESSEX SERPENT, Eowyn Ivey and Stef Penney.

From the author of THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's THE ESSEX SERPENT.

'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them.

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

*****

'Stunning' Booklist

'Riveting' Publishers Weekly

'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Read More Read Less

Praise for Beyond the Wild River

  • Praise for Beyond the Wild River - :

  • 'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' - The Times

  • Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense - Booklist

  • Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her. - Publishers Weekly

  • 'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home.' - RT Reviews

  • Praise for The House Between Tides

  • There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel - Independent

  • A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! - Ronald Frame

Read More Read Less