Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical fiction

A spellbinding and beautiful novel from a major new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Kate Morton

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.

On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...

In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery.

When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Women of the Dunes

  • Praise for Beyond the Wild River - :

  • A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born!

  • 'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' - The Times

  • Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense - Booklist

  • Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her. - Publishers Weekly

  • 'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home.' - RT Reviews

  • Praise for The House Between Tides

  • There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel - Independent

Read More Read Less