Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: a heartrending wartime story of courage and the power of hope

Sarah Steele

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of love and hope in World War II from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon.

The war taught her to fight. The children taught her to hope...
The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of love and hope in World War II. From the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon, this exquisitely beautiful novel is perfect for readers of The Postmistress, Lilac Girls and The Girl from Vichy.

'My darling girl, I need you to find someone for me . . .'

France, 1942. At the end of the day, the schoolteacher releases her pupils. She checks they have their identity passes, and warns them not to stop until the German guards have let them through the barrier that separates occupied France from Free France. As the little ones fly across the border and into their mothers' arms, she breathes a sigh of relief. No one is safe now. Not even the children.

Berkshire, present day. A letter left to her by her beloved late grandmother Gigi takes Hannah Stone on a journey deep into the heart of the Dordogne landscape. As she begins to unravel a forgotten history of wartime bravery and sacrifice, she discovers the heartrending secret that binds her grandmother to a village schoolteacher, the remarkable Lucie Laval . . .

A story of friendship, courage and hope, The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is an unforgettable read.

Readers adore Sarah Steele's novels:

'Outstandingly beautiful. This book took my breath away. A sheer joy'

'OMG WHAT A BOOK. Fabulously, beautifully written book. It definitely kept me hooked. This story is full of everything - love, heartache and loss'

'One of the best books I have read this year. It has it all - love, mystery, deceit and a secret. Five stars all the way'

'A wonderful book, which took me on a journey and stayed with me for days afterwards'

'A captivating read of secrets untold. A moving story which I read in one day. Many twists and turns enhanced this gripping novel and kept me enthralled'

'I loved this story of love, friendship and hope. It's perfect'

Read More Read Less

Sarah Steele

Sarah Steele trained as a classical pianist and violinist before joining the world of publishing as an editorial assistant at Hodder and Stoughton. She was for many years a freelance editor, and now lives in the vibrant Gloucestershire town of Stroud. Her debut novel The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon was published by Headline.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay