Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus

How It Ends

Saskia Sarginson

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

With the authenticity of Helen Dunmore and the emotional complexity of Maggie O'Farrell, How it Ends is a sweeping drama that explores the wide-spread fears of a post-war era, where one inspirational young woman looks to find her place, no matter the cost.

***Richard and Just bestselling author of The Twins***

For fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, How It Ends is a sweeping and turbulent drama about the anxieties of post-war Britain, where one inspirational young woman looks to find her place, no matter the cost...

1957: Within a year of arriving at an American airbase in Suffolk, the loving, law-abiding Delaney family is destroyed. Did they know something they weren't allowed to know? Did they find something they weren't supposed to find? Hedy is the only one left standing, a rebellious girl cast adrift in a world of post-war anxiety - a girl who has the courage to question what really went on behind military closed doors.

Hedy's journey to the truth leads her to read a manuscript that her talented twin brother had started months before he died, a story inspired by an experience in the forest surrounding the airbase perimeter. Only through deciding to finish what her brother started does Hedy begin to piece together what happened to her family.

But would she have continued if she'd known then what she knows now?

Sometimes, it's safer not to finish what you've started...

Praise for Saskia Sarginson:

'An engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page' Lisa Ballantyne on How It Ends

'Outstandingly good. Part thriller, part love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down' Sun on The Twins

'Atmospheric, readable, beautifully evoked' Sunday Mirror on Without You

'Stunning in its insight and beautifully written' Judy Finnigan on The Twins

'A stunning writer with deep insight into people, their thoughts and behaviour' NZ Women's Weekly

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Saskia Sarginson on her latest novel, Without You.

loading...

The Twins by Saskia Sarginson

Right
Left
loading...

Saskia Sarginson on her latest novel, Without You.

loading...

The Twins by Saskia Sarginson

Right

Saskia Sarginson

Saskia Sarginson was awarded a distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway after a BA in English Literature from Cambridge University and a BA in Fashion Design & Communications. Before becoming a full-time author, Saskia's writing experience included being a health and beauty editor on women's magazines, a ghost writer for the BBC and Harper Collins and copy-writing and script editing.

Saskia lives in south London with her four children.