Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio
  • Piatkus

The Bench: The most heartbreaking love story of 2020

Saskia Sarginson

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The most romantic novel of 2020, this is a tragic love story spanning three decades where the love affair starts and ends on a bench.

'An unforgettable story about once-in-a-lifetime love. Powerful, timeless and moving' Holly Miller

'A beautiful portrait of love. Real. Complicated. Irresistible' Jemma Wayne

'A wonderful, life-spanning novel with real heart and depth. I didn't want it to end' Lisa Ballantyne

Perfect for fans of One Day and A Star is Born, this is a tragic love story spanning three decades that starts and ends on a bench, by the Richard & Judy bestselling author of The Twins.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that's spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?

'A sweeping love story rich with honest, tender moments. Cat and Sam will have you rooting for them from the very start' International bestselling author Emma Rous

More praise for Saskia Sarginson:

'Beautifully evoked' Sunday Mirror

'Stunning' Judy Finnigan, Richard & Judy Book Club

'Wonderful' Rosamund Lupton

'Outstandingly good' Sun

'Enthralling' Ruth Ware

'Haunting' Independent

'Engrossing' Lisa Ballantyne

'
Compelling' Candis

'Absorbing'
Heat

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Saskia Sarginson on her latest novel, Without You.

loading...

The Twins by Saskia Sarginson

Right
Left
loading...

Saskia Sarginson on her latest novel, Without You.

loading...

The Twins by Saskia Sarginson

Right

Saskia Sarginson

Saskia Sarginson was awarded a distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway after a BA in English Literature from Cambridge University and a BA in Fashion Design & Communications. Before becoming a full-time author, Saskia's writing experience included being a health and beauty editor on women's magazines, a ghost writer for the BBC and Harper Collins and copy-writing and script editing.
Saskia lives in south London with her four children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay