Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus

The Bench: The most romantic novel of 2020

Saskia Sarginson

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The most romantic novel of 2020, this is a tragic love story spanning three decades where the love affair starts and ends on a bench.

***RICHARD AND JUDY and INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLING AUTHOR***
A tragic love story spanning three decades, The Bench is Saskia Sarginson's most accomplished and heart-rendering novel to date. For fans of One Day and A Star is Born.

'We should have a plaque too,' he says. 'What would it say?'

I tilt my head. 'For Cat and Sam, who found each other and lost each other and found each other again,' I suggest.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that's spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never should have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?


Praise for Saskia Sarginson:

'An intense and brooding read, with a brilliantly
claustrophobic sense of place' Sunday Mirror on How it Ends

'An engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page' Lisa Ballantyne on How It Ends

'Outstandingly good. Part thriller, part love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down' Sun on The Twins

'Atmospheric, readable, beautifully evoked' Sunday Mirror on Without You

'Stunning in its insight and beautifully written' Judy Finnigan on The Twins

'This enthralling read will keep you up long into the night' Ruth Ware on The Other Me

'Inspirational and compelling' Candis Review on How it Ends

'A stunning writer with deep insight into people, their thoughts and behaviour' NZ Women's Weekly

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Saskia Sarginson on her latest novel, Without You.

loading...

The Twins by Saskia Sarginson

Right
Left
loading...

Saskia Sarginson on her latest novel, Without You.

loading...

The Twins by Saskia Sarginson

Right

Saskia Sarginson

Saskia Sarginson was awarded a distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway after a BA in English Literature from Cambridge University and a BA in Fashion Design & Communications. Before becoming a full-time author, Saskia's writing experience included being a health and beauty editor on women's magazines, a ghost writer for the BBC and Harper Collins and copy-writing and script editing.

Saskia lives in south London with her four children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay