Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books

Rip Crew

Sebastian Rotella

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense

A shocking murder has international repercussions in this dark political thriller, perfect for fans of Don Winslow and Sicario.

Valentine Pescatore, the globetrotting former Border Patrol agent, finds himself back on American soil investigating the merciless killing of a group of women in a motel room.

At first, the crime seems to be a straightforward case of gangsters battling for territory. Soon, however, the motive is revealed to be much deeper and more sinister: a single witness who knows too much is being hunted, at any cost.

The case leads Pescatore from the bullet-scarred slums of Brazil to the gangster badlands outside Naples as it reveals a vast conspiracy of wealth and power. In a connected world, crimes that take place far away can turn out to be terrifyingly close to home...

Read More Read Less

Praise for Rip Crew

  • This is one of the most accomplished first novels I have ever read. Triple Crossing is full of dangers, deep characters and a story writ on a grand scale.

  • An astonishingly impressive debut from an investigative journalist with a sharp eye for the duplicity that stalks the border between the U.S. and Mexico...a taut, lean and satisfying thriller that lingers in your mind long after you've finished it. - Daily Mail on Triple Crossing

  • Rotella is an expert on the vicious anarchy of Mexican crime and politics...His balance of intimate storytelling and operatic scale is stunning. - Daily Telegraph on Triple Crossing

  • A remarkable first novel . . . The pounding action scenes are driven by Rotella's ferocious prose style. - New York Times Book Review on Triple Crossing

  • An honest and engrossing journey into a world of violence and corruption . . . Rotella knows how the police work, how the criminals operate and how bribes and violence subvert the law. He employs a journalist's sharp eye and a novelist's deft touch to give us a rich portrait of the sights, smells, sounds, beauties, and dangers of life south of the border. - Washington Post on Triple Crossing

  • Excellent . . . Rotella ratchets up the action with an absorbing look at international politics. - Publishers Weekly (starred) on The Convert's Song

  • A rousing thriller with heart and heartbreak...Rotella's prose is vivid and precise, his sense of setting sharply illuminating. - LA Times on The Convert's Song

  • I read like a zealot....The story got me in a chokehold as the characters grew more and more complex and Rotella's style thickened and boiled and bubbled. - NPR on The Convert's Song

Read More Read Less

Sebastian Rotella

Sebastian Rotella is an author and award-winning senior reporter for Propublica, covering issues including international terrorism, organized crime, homeland security and immigration. Previously he spent 23 years working for the Los Angeles Times. He was a Pulitzer finalist in international reporting in 2006. He is also the author of Twilight on the Line: Underworlds and Politics at the U.S.-Mexico Border.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay