Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia

WAKE

Shelley Burr

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

WHAT REALLY HAPPENED TO YOUNG EVIE McCREERY? A searing debut crime novel where the grief and guilt surrounding an unsolved disappearance still haunt a small farming community . . . and will ultimately lead to a reckoning

Evelyn simply vanished.

The small town of Nannine lies in the harsh red interior of New South Wales. Once a thriving outback centre, years of punishing drought have whittled it down to no more than a couple of pubs and a police station. And its one sinister claim to fame: the still-unsolved disappearance of Evelyn McCreery nineteen years ago from the bedroom she shared with her twin sister.

Mina McCreery's life has been defined by the intense and ongoing public interest in her sister's case. Now an anxious and reclusive adult, Mina lives alone on her family's sunbaked destocked sheep farm. The million-dollar reward her mother established to solve the disappearance has never been paid out.

Enter Lane Holland, a private investigator who dropped out of the police academy to earn a living cracking cold cases. Lane has his eye on the unclaimed money, but he also has darker motivations for wanting to solve the case.

Compulsively readable, with an unforgettable setting and cast of characters, WAKE is a powerful, unsparing story of how trauma ripples outward when people's private tragedies become public property, and how it's never too late for the truth to set things right.

'Burr brings a piercing psychological acuity, creating a nuanced examination of the emotional and reputational stakes of a murder investigation.' CANBERRA TIMES

'There is a complexity and depth to the characters that offer readers something more than merely a page-turning rush, although there is plenty of that to be found too . . . A cracker of a story and some surprising twists to the tale. WAKE will appeal to fans of Jane Harper, Christian White and Chris Hammer.' BOOKS+PUBLISHING

'One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction.' CHRIS HAMMER

'A nerve-jangling thriller with a brilliantly twisty plot, WAKE is also a haunting exploration of trauma in the age of celebrity victimhood. Shelley Burr's true-to-life characters, beautifully evoked landscapes and breakneck pacing make for compulsive reading.' ROSE CARLYLE

'An effortlessly accomplished, astonishing debut set against the heat and isolation of the Australian outback.' DINUKA MCKENZIE

'Shelley Burr's debut is more compulsive, more accomplished, and better written than it has any right to be . . . Highly recommended' LIAN HINGEE, READINGS

'WAKE is evocative, brutal, and sometimes confronting . . . The plot is complex, tightly constructed and not only keeps you reading, but guessing, right up to the last page' GOOD READING

'WAKE is the best kind of outback thriller' FIONA HARDY, READINGS

'If you

Read More Read Less

Praise for WAKE

  • 'If you love Jane Harper's books, you will love this even more. Compelling characters, an intriguing plot and so well written' - KAYTE NUNN

  • 'WAKE is an incredible read: a hugely compelling mystery with a vivid rural Australia setting and fascinatingly damaged characters' - ALLIE REYNOLDS

  • 'An effortlessly accomplished, astonishing debut set against the heat and isolation of the Australian outback, deftly unpicking the layered repercussions of a decades-old crime. This is a sharply observed unravelling of trauma and survival, exploring which crimes get to make the headlines and stay in the public's consciousness. Gripping rural noir at its tense and atmospheric best, which will hook you from the very first paragraph. WAKE is a standout debut and Shelley Burr, a voice that will make you sit up and take notice' - DINUKA MCKENZIE

  • 'A nerve-jangling thriller with a brilliantly twisty plot, WAKE is also a haunting exploration of trauma in the age of celebrity victimhood. Shelley Burr's true-to-life characters, beautifully evoked landscapes and breakneck pacing make for compulsive reading. A triumphant debut.' - Rose Carlyle

  • 'One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction.' - Chris Hammer

  • 'A nerve-jangling thriller with a brilliantly twisty plot, WAKE is also a haunting exploration of trauma in the age of celebrity victimhood. Shelley Burr's true-to-life characters, beautifully evoked landscapes and breakneck pacing make for compulsive reading. A triumphant debut.' - ROSE CARLYLE

  • 'One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction.' - CHRIS HAMMER

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay