Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

Gods of Jade and Shadow: A wildly imaginative historical fantasy

Silvia Moreno-Garcia

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy, Historical fiction

The Mayan God of Death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore. A vivid, wildly imaginative historical fantasy for fans of Katherine Arden and Naomi Novik.

'This is historical fantasy at its best' S.A. Chakraborty, author of THE CITY OF BRASS

Inspired by Mexican folklore, GODS OF JADE AND SHADOW is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it's passing Casiopea Tun by. She's too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do anything more than dream of a life far from her dusty, small town in southern Mexico. A life she could call her own.

This dream is impossible, distant as the stars - until the day Casiopea opens a curious chest in her grandfather's room and accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death. He offers her a deal: if Casiopea helps him recover his throne from his treacherous brother, he will grant her whatever she desires. Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost, for ever.

In the company of the strangely alluring god and armed only with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey, from the jungles of Yucatan to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld.

'Wondrous and magical' Kevin Hearne, author of The Iron Druid Chronicles

'Evocative and moving' Rebecca Roanhorse, author of TRIAL OF LIGHTNING

'An adventure for the mind and the heart' Christina Henry, author of ALICE

'A joy to read' Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library series

Read More Read Less

Praise for Gods of Jade and Shadow: A wildly imaginative historical fantasy

  • Simultaneously heartbreaking and heart-mending, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a wondrous and magical tale about choosing our own path. I felt weepy and happy and hopeful when I finished - everything you want to feel at the end of a great story - Kevin Hearne, New York Times-bestselling author of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Kill the Farm Boy

  • Set in a lushly rendered and gorgeous world, this is historical fantasy at its best: a fresh, feminist coming-of-age tale that lets the ancient and the new meld and clash in a tale you can't put down - S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass and The Kingdom of Copper

  • An evocative and moving fairy-tale about a downtrodden girl and the Mayan God of Death and how they both find each other and their humanity together . . . Loved it. Highly recommend - Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trial of Lightning

  • Part Jane Eyre and part Cinderella story, Moreno-Garcia's Gods of Jade and Shadow is a beautiful fantasy tale based on Mayan mythology. In a time with so much negative emphasis on Mexico, it's easy to forget that Mexico is a country with a very rich heritage, mythology and folklore. Moreno-Garcia successfully retells this myth with a beautiful prose and description of a Mexico of the 1920s - A Wondrous Bookshelf

  • Gods of Jade and Shadow was an easy, fun read that enchanted every step of the way, with the mood of a classic fairytale drifting beneath a whirl of Mayan myth and 1920s Mexico - While Reading and Walking

  • A magical novel of duality, tradition, and change . . . Moreno-Garcia's seamless blend of mythology and history provides a ripe setting for Casiopea's stellar journey of self-discovery, which culminates in a dramatic denouement. Readers will gladly immerse themselves in Moreno-Garcia's rich and complex tale of desperate hopes and complicated relationships - Publishers Weekly Starred Review

  • A lush, bittersweet tale of courage, love and carving your own place in the world . . . Silvia Moreno-Garcia's evocative prose will take you on an adventure for the mind and the heart - Christina Henry, author of ALICE and THE GIRL IN RED

  • A vibrant story of grit, giddiness, and glory with a protagonist whose personality burns bright as a star. Casiopea Tun will capture your heart and draw you into a jewel-toned world of myth-making and jazz music - Lara Elena Donnelly, author of The Amberlough Dossier series

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay