Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Point of Rescue

Sophie Hannah

32 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

The phenomenal word-of-mouth bestselling author Sophie Hannah explores the various sides of motherhood in her third stunning psychological suspense novel.

Agatha Christie fans will love Queen of Crime Sophie Hannah's third stunning psychological suspense novel. Also perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.

'Addictive' Marie Claire
'Irresistible' Guardian

It began with an affair. And ended in murder.

Sally is watching the news with her husband when she hears a name she ought not to recognise: Mark Bretherick.

Last year, a work trip Sally had planned was cancelled at the last minute. Desperate for a break from her busy life juggling work and a young family, Sally didn't tell her husband that the trip had fallen through. Instead, she booked a week off work and treated herself to a secret holiday.

All she wanted was a bit of peace - some time to herself - but it didn't work out that way. Because Sally met a man. Mark Bretherick. All the details are the same: where he lives, his job, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. Except that the man on the news is a man Sally has never seen before. And Geraldine and Lucy Bretherick are both dead . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Point of Rescue

  • A really absorbing little mystery - Daily Mirror

  • Based on the books by Sophie Hannah, who I am a huge fan of . . . nice dynamic, good characters, very well written . . . having read the book I cannot think of a better adaptation of a brilliant novel - very classy and classically done. - Boyd Hilton, BBC Radio 5 Live

  • Smoothly escalating tension - Independent

  • It's always nice to be surprised and one place you don't expect to be surprised is in an ITV1 cop drama . . . It's a cracking plot, both gripping and unguessable. As excitement and chases go, this is first-class stuff. - Daily Express

  • Praise for Case Sensitive and Sophie Hannah - :

  • Hannah has a keen ear for her characters' foibles, snobberies and hypocrisies, and the observation remains acute throughout. - Observer

  • I'm surprised I had any nails left by the end of this addictive thriller. - Eve

  • Brilliantly creepy - Red Magazine

  • Poet and children's writer Sophie Hannah is proving to be equally adept at turning her hand to pscyhological thrillers - Time Out

  • The author is a poet by trade and she brings a wealth of psychological and literary subtlety to bear in this impressive novel. Smart and disarmingly unnerving. - Daily Mail

  • This disturbing tale is a cut above the average crime thriller, with an intelligent and inventive plot that raises questions about identity, guilt and the taboo of unfulfilling motherhood. - Psychologies

  • The terror created by Hannah will continue to lurk on the edges of your sub-conscious long after you've put this book down - The News of the World

  • The tension is screwed ever tighter until the final shocking outcome - Barry Forshaw, Daily Express

  • Sophie Hannah's ingenious, almost surreal mysteries are so intricately constructed that it's impossible to guess how they will end. It's a compelling and disquieting story, told with the author's usual panache. - Susanna Yaegar, Sunday Telegraph

  • Sophie Hannah just gets better and better, with experience adding rocket fuel to her already high-octane yarns . . . Brilliantly cunning and entirely unpredictable. - Guardian

  • Sophie Hannah is adept at picking creepy scenarios that are guaranteed to terrify, with plot complications that keep you guessing until the last page. Hannah doesn't allow the tension to s

  • This disturbing tale is a cut above the average crime thriller, with an intelligent and inventive plot that raises questions about identity, guilt and the taboo of unfulfilling motherhood. - Psychologies

  • This tense psychological tale will have your heart punding and your pulse racing - Waterstone's Books Quarterly

  • A haunting story told with bewitching skill - Scotsman

  • Brilliantly creepy - Red Magazine

  • Sophie Hannah is adept at picking creepy scenarios that are guaranteed to terrify, with plot complications that keep you guessing until the last page. Hannah doesn't allow the tension to slacken for a second in this addictive, brilliantly chilling thriller. - Marie Claire Book of the Month

  • Every so often a writer comes along whose freshness and originality blows the competition out of the water.. .Genuinely gripping, full of the unseen and yet fitting twists and turns that make good quality crime fiction such a pleasure - Yorkshire Post

  • Won't disappoint her fans. The Point of Rescue deals in twisty suspense with themes of assumed identity, abduction, revenge, betrayal and murder, but also offers a frankly terrifying view of motherhood. It's the psychological depth that enures Sophie Hannah's novels stand out in a crowded market - Alice O'Keeffe, Amazon

  • MUST READ: An intriguing tale! - Daily Telegraph, Australia

  • Hannah reinforces her reputation as a great new thriller writer. Chilling, compulsive and with a genius twist - Elle

  • Superbly creepy. . .her plots are brilliant - Guardian

  • Hannah doesn't allow the tension to slacken for a second in this addictive, brilliantly chilling thriller. - Marie Claire Book of the Month

  • I'm surprised I had any nails left by the end of this addictive thriller. - Eve

  • The tension is screwed ever tighter until the final shocking outcome. - Daily Express

  • Hannah doesn't allow the tension to slacken for a second in this addictive, brilliantly chilling thriller. - Book of the Month, Marie Claire

  • Tension, thy name is Sophie Hannah. In THE POINT OF RESCUE, murder, false identity and infidelity are thet tools Hannah deploys to create a plausible but edge-of-your-seat read. - Independent

  • For those who demand emotional intelligence and literary verve from their thrillers, Sophie Hannah is the writer of choice. THE POINT OF RESCUE, her third, combines a creepily irresistible page-turner with an exploration of motherhood's taboos. - Guardian

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Sophie Hannah: The Human Side of the Villain

loading...

Sophie Hannah: Unlocking the Dark Side of the Mind

loading...

Lasting Damage by Sophie Hannah

loading...

Sophie Hannah talks about her new book

Right
Left
loading...

Sophie Hannah: The Human Side of the Villain

loading...

Sophie Hannah: Unlocking the Dark Side of the Mind

loading...

Lasting Damage by Sophie Hannah

loading...

Sophie Hannah talks about her new book

Right

Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. Her crime novels have been translated into 34 languages and published in 51 countries. Her psychological thriller The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year in 2013. In 2014 and 2016, Sophie published The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket, the first new Hercule Poirot mysteries since Agatha Christie's death, both of which were national and international bestsellers. Two more Poirot novels will follow, in 2018 and 2020. Sophie's thrillers The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also a bestselling poet who has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot award. Her poetry is studied at GCSE and A-level throughout the UK. Sophie is an Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, two children and dog.