Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Virago
  • Hachette Audio
  • Virago

Surrogate: 'An up-all-night compulsive read' Kate Hamer

Susan Spindler

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery

For fans of Lullaby and Apple Tree Yard, a gripping novel of relationships, mothers and secrets...

THERE'S NOTHING LIKE A MOTHER'S LOVE...

'Moving and exciting and moral - immensely intelligent' TESSA HADLEY

Ruth Furnival is a successful television executive with a seemingly perfect life: a nice house in London, a lawyer husband and two grown-up daughters. But at 54, with an empty nest and the menopause behind her, she feels restless and dissatisfied.

After multiple rounds of failed IVF, her eldest daughter Lauren has been told that the only chance for her and her husband to have their own child is surrogacy. So when Ruth discovers that, with the right dose of hormones, she could carry their baby, out of desperation they agree.

At first Ruth is buoyed up by her sense of purpose, but as the pregnancy progresses, long-buried events from her past resurface - and Lauren can't contain her corrosive envy. Isolated and alone, Ruth starts to unravel, and what started as an act of altruism begins to seem like an atonement for which she is willing to risk everything.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Surrogate: 'An up-all-night compulsive read' Kate Hamer

  • Moving and exciting and moral - immensely intelligent - Tessa Hadley

Read More Read Less

Susan Spindler

Susan Spindler is an award-winning journalist and documentary filmmaker. She worked for the BBC on flagship series such as Horizon, Tomorrow's World, and QED and went on to be become Deputy Director of Drama, Entertainment & Children's Programmes. Surrogate is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay