Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Fiction, Horror & ghost stories

The incredible, horrifying thriller from the Hugo-nominated author of THE BOY WHO CAST NO SHADOW, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Nevill and Stephen King.

The greats of fiction Stephen King and George R. R. Martin lead the fanfare for HEX, so be assured that Thomas Olde Heuvelt's debut English novel is both terrifying and unputdownable in equal measure.

Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay until death. Whoever comes to stay, never leaves.

Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth-century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Blind and silenced, she walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children's beds for nights on end. So accustomed to her have the townsfolk become that they often forget she's there. Or what a threat she poses. Because if the stitches are ever cut open, the story goes, the whole town will die.

The curse must not be allowed to spread. The elders of Black Spring have used high-tech surveillance to quarantine the town. Frustrated with being kept in lockdown, the town's teenagers decide to break the strict regulations and go viral with the haunting. But, in so doing, they send the town spiraling into a dark nightmare.

Read More Read Less

Praise for HEX

  • A wicked witch holds an upstate New York town prisoner. This is totally, brilliantly original. - Stephen King

  • Deeply unsettling, wholly original, brilliantly written . . . I dare you to read it. - Sarah Lotz

  • HEX is reminiscent of vintage Stephen King, and I can think of no higher praise. Chilling, moving and, in its odd way, not a little profound. - John Connolly

  • A truly terrifying parable about mankind's depravity ... the story is not merely unsettling, it is horrifying ... read it if you dare! - Kirkus Reviews

  • Hidden tensions and human weakness trigger a witch-hunt that boils over into persecution, scapegoating and a shocking denouement. A powerfully spooky piece of writing. - Financial Times

  • A thoughtful horror story, and one that is all the more chilling for its uncompromising view of humanity . . . HEX is a book that answers the question, "Where does evil come from?" - Robin Hobb

  • A great writer, the next genre superstar - Paul Cornell

  • A compelling story rich in imagination and history . . . HEX is truly absorbing. - Fantasy Book Review

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay