Your cart


Total AUD



  • Abacus

Who Dares Wins: The Story of the SAS 1950-1992

Tony Geraghty

2 Reviews

Rated 0

True war & combat stories, Prose: non-fiction

A comprehensive and enthralling book - this is the internationally acclaimed history of the Special Air Service from its inception until the Gulf War.

From the origins of the SAS behind Rommel's lines in the Sahara through the Malayan emergency, the Arabian skirmishes in Oman and Yemen, the debacle in Gibraltar and the regiment's unique role in the Gulf War, Tony Geraghty examines their successes and failures, the different ways successive British governments have exploited their expertise, their training methods and the skills the men acquire. He has spoken to the soldiers and officers who took part in the SAS' many operations, gaining insight into their activities, philosophy and morale. The author includes material on the Falklands campaign, the shoot to kill debate and previously unknown facts of the SAS' activity during the Gulf War. He has spoken to those who operated far behind the Iraqi lines and obtained previously unpublished photographs of their presence there. As with the original edition, this is a portrayal of a regiment always on call for the riskier military activities and who occupy a special place in the British Army. Tony Geraghty was the Sunday Times Defence Correspondent during the 1970s.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Who Dares Wins: The Story of the SAS 1950-1992

  • An excellent job, the more gripping for being true. - SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

  • The SAS is rather special. This book shows why. - ECONOMIST

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay