Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

Darling Blue

Tracy Rees

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The fourth novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.

A heartwarming tale of love, family and acceptance, Darling Blue is a simply gorgeous read...

In their townhouse in Richmond, Blue and her family are as happy and as close as can be - well, on the surface at least.

But with the arrival of a young, destitute woman hoping to escape her abusive husband, they must finally confront the rifts that keep them apart. When they welcome Delphine into their home - and their hearts - they think it's for her benefit only. But what they don't realise is that she will bring them together in ways they never thought possible...

SEE WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT DARLING BLUE!

'There were so many things that captivated me - her always wonderful writing, the gorgeous 1920s world of Richmond she evoked so beautifully and the characters who jumped right off the page and were such a complete pleasure to spend time with'
Jenny Ashcroft

'I loved the evocative atmosphere of the 20s, the lovely characters and gorgeous descriptions of nature/turning of the seasons'
Lucinda Riley

'Tracy's meticulous research and lavish prose provide the reader with the complete experience. From the intriguing premise, I was caught up in the lives of these three women and invested in their stories. Tracy's depiction of life in Richmond in the twenties was spot on and added depth to this glorious novel'
Kathryn Hughes

'I've so loved Darling Blue by Tracy Rees. Her writing is so fresh and exuberant and the characters so warm and lovely. It's a book full of sunshine, a real treat'
Rachel Hore

'I love Tracy's writing; it's full of colour and atmosphere, with sparkly dialogue and just the right pace to keep you turning the pages'
Gill Paul, author of Another Woman's Husband

'Darling Blue is a clever book that's a joy to read ... the drama rises by subtle, tiny increments until, at its climax, you have to remind yourself to breathe. These three women will stay with you for a long, long time'
Claire Dyer

'Completely delightful, I loved it and the 1920s setting is sublime. Tracy writes with a warmth and authenticity that draws her readers into the delicious world she has created'
Rosanna Ley

'I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into the delicious effervescent world of Richmond in the 1920s. Tracy has such a lovely turn of phrase. Full of vitality and warmth, Darling Blue is delightful'
Tor Udall

'It's a simply glorious read, one of the best books I've read in a very long time. Tracy's writing is so

Read More Read Less

Praise for Darling Blue

  • Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark - Lucinda Riley

  • The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter

  • An enjoyable and intriguing read - Trisha Ashley

  • This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings - Psychologies

  • The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down - Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's

  • Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic - Rosanna Ley

  • Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place - Leah Fleming

  • A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page - Richard and Judy on Amy Snow

Read More Read Less

Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay