Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Hourglass: a Richard & Judy Bestselling Author

Tracy Rees

6 Reviews

Rated 0

South Wales, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical fiction

The powerful third novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller AMY SNOW. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies' THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE.

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes. The powerful third novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller AMY SNOW.

2014. Sensible Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby, a place she's only been once before. Together with a local girl she rents a beautiful townhouse and slowly begins to settle in to her new life. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.

1950. Teenager Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.

THE HOURGLASS is a moving novel about reinvention and reconciliation; about finding love even after it seems too late, about family and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Hourglass: a Richard & Judy Bestselling Author

  • I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told - Nicola Cornick

  • Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place - Leah Fleming

  • Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction - Lucinda Riley, bestselling author

  • Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic - Rosanna Ley

  • A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page - Richard and Judy on Amy Snow

  • I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! - Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky

Read More Read Less

Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay