Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus

The Man on the Street: gritty, gripping crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin and Mari Hannah

Trevor Wood

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

The most exciting crime debut of the year, introducing a unique and unforgettable investigator

Introducing the most unforgettable investigator of 2020. Gritty, Newcastle-set crime for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.

'A unique protagonist and a cracking plotline ... a smart, thought-provoking crime read with bags of heart and humanity' MARI HANNAH

'I can safely say it will be huge ... an excellent read' PATRICIA GIBNEY

It started with a splash. Jimmy, a homeless veteran grappling with PTSD, did his best to pretend he hadn't heard it - the sound of something heavy falling into the Tyne at the height of an argument between two men on the riverbank. Not his fight.

Then he sees the headline: GIRL IN MISSING DAD PLEA. The girl, Carrie, reminds him of someone he lost, and this makes his mind up: it's time to stop hiding from his past. But telling Carrie, what he heard - or thought he heard - turns out to be just the beginning of the story.

The police don't believe him, but Carrie is adamant that something awful has happened to her dad and Jimmy agrees to help her, putting himself at risk from enemies old and new.

But Jimmy has one big advantage: when you've got nothing, you've got nothing to lose.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Man on the Street: gritty, gripping crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin and Mari Hannah

  • I've just finished The Man on the Street, and I hugely enjoyed it. Wood is the real thing. I recently read the last Rebus, and it absolutely stands up to that level. It's smart, witty, compassionate and real, and the dialogue is brilliant. It's a fine thriller with something to say - and it feels like a blast of fresh air in the genre

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay