Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Poster Girl

Veronica Roth

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

For fans of Anthony Marra and Lauren Beukes, #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth delivers a haunting dystopian mystery that explores the expanding [VR1] role of surveillance on society via one woman who benefited as a child from an oppressive regime as her eyes are opened to the abuses her family, friends, and community perpetrated.

A fallen regime. A missing child. A chance at freedom.

By the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent, Poster Girl is a haunting adult dystopian mystery that explores the expanding role of surveillance on society - an inescapable reality that we welcome all too easily.


WHAT'S RIGHT IS RIGHT.
Sonya Kantor knows this slogan - she lived by it for most of her life. For decades, everyone in the Seattle-Portland megalopolis lived under it, as well as constant surveillance in the form of the Insight, an ocular implant that tracked every word and every action, rewarding or punishing by a rigid moral code set forth by the Delegation.

Then there was a revolution. The Delegation fell. Its most valuable members were locked in the Aperture, a prison on the outskirts of the city. And everyone else, now free from the Insight's monitoring, went on with their lives.

Sonya, former poster girl for the Delegation, has been imprisoned for ten years when an old enemy comes to her with a deal: find a missing girl who was stolen from her parents by the old regime, and earn her freedom. The path Sonya takes to find the child will lead her through an unfamiliar, crooked post-Delegation world where she finds herself digging deeper into the past - and her family's dark secrets - than she ever wanted to.

'Chosen Ones by Veronica Roth is the cure for all those humdrum 'one true saviour' narratives' Charlie Jane Anders, Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of THE CITY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, on CHOSEN ONES

'Roth has pulled off a virtuoso performance'
Blake Crouch, bestselling author of DARK MATTER and RECURSION on CHOSEN ONES
'Roth somehow manages to make universe-building look easy' Charles Yu, bestselling author of INTERIOR CHINATOWN on CHOSEN ONES

Read More Read Less

Praise for Poster Girl

  • Roth has pulled off a virtuoso performance, conjuring a stunning thriller/fantasy/sci-fi chimera like nothing I've read before, a story of ex-heroes struggling with the trauma of their past, what it means to have once saved the world, and the dark side of destiny - Blake Crouch, bestselling author of DARK MATTER and RECURSION

  • Roth somehow manages to make universe-building look easy. She sets it all up - world, characters, premise - so smoothly that you hardly notice until you're a hundred pages in and hurtling down the tracks. An insightful exploration of desire and ambition that also touches on broader societal topics, including celebrity, social media, trauma and recovery - Charles Yu, bestselling author of INTERIOR CHINATOWN

  • Poster Girl is a captivating story full of twists and turns-and no easy answers. - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of Girl, Forgotten

  • Roth weaves a tale of redemption and regret that kept me riveted and guessing until the last page - Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of Wool and Across the Sand

  • Poster Girl is a rare book that is deeply entertaining while making readers consider deep moral issues - Megan Giddings, author of Lakewood and The Women Could Fly

Read More Read Less

Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth is the New York Times best-selling author of Chosen Ones, the short story collection The End and Other Beginnings, the Divergent series, and the Carve the Mark duology. She is also the guest editor of the most recent The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy. She lives in Chicago, Illinois.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay