Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press

Will This House Last Forever?

Xanthi Barker

Write Review

Rated 0

Memoirs

For readers of GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS, a heartfelt and beautifully written memoir about the experience of losing a beloved but largely absent father.

An intimate, gorgeously original memoir that asks: how do you say goodbye to a beloved, flawed, and largely absent father?

When Xanthi Barker's father died when she was in her mid twenties, she could make no sense of her grief for a man who had been absent for most of her life. Her father, Sebastian Barker, had left Xanthi, her mother and her brother to pursue poetry and a new relationship, when Xanthi was a baby. Growing up she had always struggled to reconcile his extravagant affection - the house he built for the family in Greece, rocking horses crafted by hand, an endless stream of poems and drawings and letters - with the fact that he could not be relied upon to show up at parents' evening or to answer the phone sober after 6pm. Though theirs was a relationship defined by departures, he always returned, so why should this farewell be any different, or more final?

WILL THIS HOUSE LAST FOREVER? is a heartfelt and wholly original memoir about the pain of having to come to terms with a parent's mortality, the way grief so utterly defies logic, and about learning to see the flaws in those that we love, and let them go.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay