Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Will This House Last Forever?: 'Raw, devastating, beautifully formed' Daisy Johnson

Xanthi Barker

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Memoirs

*A Bookseller Editor's Choice for June 2021*

For readers of GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS or MY WILD AND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS, a heartfelt and beautifully written memoir about the experience of losing a father who put poetry before family every time..

'It felt such a privilege to read this book. Raw, devastating, beautifully formed. Let's keep our eye on Barker' Daisy Johnson
'Wonderful - an elegy of sorts, yet wholly fresh and unsentimental' Sara Baume

When Xanthi Barker's father died when she was in her mid twenties, she could make no sense of her grief for a man who had been absent for most of her life. Her father, poet Sebastian Barker, had left Xanthi, her mother and her brother to pursue writing and a new relationship, when Xanthi was a baby. Growing up she had always struggled to reconcile his extravagant affection - a rocking horse crafted from scavenged wood, the endless stream of poems and drawings and letters, conversations that spiralled from the structure of starlight to philosophy to Bruce Springsteen - with the fact that he could not be depended upon for more everyday things. Though theirs was a relationship defined by departures, he always returned, so why should this farewell be any different, or more final?

WILL THIS HOUSE LAST FOREVER? is a heartfelt and wholly original memoir about the pain of having to come to terms with a parent's mortality, the way grief so utterly defies logic, and about learning to see the flaws in those that we love, and let them go.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Will This House Last Forever?: 'Raw, devastating, beautifully formed' Daisy Johnson

  • A delicate, beautifully written story of love and grief

  • Barker's attempt to triangulate a void is haunting. Yet even from the depths her memories glow with life, the writing gleams with precision

  • The story of a relationship defined by departures... arresting and beautifully written - Bookseller

Read More Read Less

Xanthi Barker

Xanthi Barker was born in London where she still lives. Her fiction has been published in various magazines and anthologies and shortlisted for the Fish Prize. In 2017 she won the Short Story Prize and in 2019 her novelette One Thing was published by Open Pen.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay